Introduction
This guide will list some of the resources available at the COD Library that you can use to find information when doing research on Sociology or cultural topics. A list of various topics can be found below.
COD Sociology Academic Program
Over on the right are some other research tools that you can use to find information.
Be sure to ask for help at the Reference desks if you have questions or problems.
List of topic Areas
Sociology Mind Map - for other related topics
Class and Inequality / Social Stratification
Cultural Literacy / Cultural Intelligence
Culture Information for Other Countries
Demographics and Population Studies
Emotional Literacy / Emotional Intelligence
Folklore, Legends, Mythology, Superstitions
Health, Illness, Society and Culture
Holidays, Festivals, Celebrations
Basic Social Literacy / Social Intelligence
Free Speech: What Everyone Needs to Know
Gender: What Everyone Needs to Know
Inequality: What Everyone Needs to Know. General HM 821 .G 35 2016
Religious Literacy: What Every American Needs to Know - and Doesn't. General BL 42.5 .U 5 P 76 2007
Sociology: A Very Short Introduction. General HM 585 .B 782 2000
The Sociology Book (an encyclopedia). General HM 585 .S 61584 2015
The White Working Class: What Everyone Needs to Know. General E 184 .A 1 G 424 2018
Animals and Society
General Call Numbers:
Animal Behavior: QL 750
Animal Folklore: GR 705
Animal Philosophy: B 105 . A 55
Animal Rights: HV 4708
Animals and Civilization: QL 85
Mythical Animals: GR 825
Zoology: QL
Animal Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Reference GR 101 .A 54 1996
Animal Rights: What Everyone Needs to Know
Animal Studies: The Key Concepts. Reference B 105 .A 55 C 334 2021
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior. Reference QL 750.3 .E 53 2004
Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare. Reference HV 7408 .E 53 2010
Encyclopedia of Cryptozoology: A Global Guide to Hidden Animals and their Pursuers. Reference QL 88.3 .N 49 2005
Encyclopedia of the World's Zoos. Reference QL 75 .E 53 2001
Furry Tales: A Review of Essential Anthopomorphic Fiction
Habitats and Ecosystems: An Encyclopedia of Endangered America. Reference QH 76 .C 73 1999
Class and Inequality / Social Stratification
Ascribed Status
The American Middle Class: An Economic Encyclopedia
Class in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HN 90 .S 6 C 564 2007
Encyclopedia of American Social History. Reference E 20 .E 6 1993
Encyclopedia of European Social History.
Inequality in America: Causes and Consequences
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History. Reference HN 57 .O 94 2012
Poverty: An International Glossary
Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy. Reference HC 110 .P 6 { 598 2004
Demographics and Population Studies
Demography mind map for related concepts
Demographic Aspects of Population Policies
Demographics and Infectious Diseases
Demographics and the LGBTQ Population
Life Expectancy mind map for related concepts
Population and Environmental Ethics
Population and Food, reading 1
Population and Food, reading 2
Population and the Middle East
Population Policies - Demographic Aspects
Population Policies - Fertility Control
Population Policies - Migration
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Encyclopedia of Population. Reference HB 871 .E 538 2003
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities. Reference GN 495.4 .E 63 2005
Life in Rural America: A Statistical Portrait
Social Stratification in the United States (in charts and graphs)
Statistical Abstract of the United States. Latest print editions at Ready Reference. Older editions at General HA 202 .U 5 S 93.
Diversity
There is a guide for Ethnic Groups just below this one.
A discussion of Racism in the United States.
Citizenship Education and Diversity
Diversity Training for Organizations
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture. Reference E169.12 .E 49 2001
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
See also the section below on Racism and Discrimination
Ethnic Groups
Information on Ethnic / Culture Groups from the Anthropology research Guide
See also the Diversity section directly above.
See also the Demographics and Population Studies section above
Global Migration Research Guide
Race and Discrimination research guide further down below
American Multicultural Identity: Critical Insights in Literature. General PS 169 .N 35 A 447 2014
African American History library research guide
African American Folklore: An Encyclopedia
African Americans and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia
African Americans at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice
Atlas of African American History
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History. General E185 E54 1996
There is a section just below for items about the Asian Subcontinent Area
25 Events that Shaped Asian American History
Asian American Chronology. Reference E 184 .A 75 Z 47 2009
Asian American Culture (an encyclopedia)
Asian American Encyclopedia. Reference E 184 .O 6 A 827 1995
Asian American Literature: An Encyclopedia for Students
Asian American Religious Cultures
Asian Americans : An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History (2014)
Chinese Americans : The History and Culture of a People
The Columbia Guide to Asian American History. General E 184 .A 75 O 454 2001
The Columbia Guide to Asian American Literature since 1945. Reference PS 153 .A 84 C 65 2006
Dictionary of Asian American History. Reference E 184 O 6 D 53 1986
Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature. Reference PS 153 .A 84 O 37 2007
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment
Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater
Keywords for Asian American Studies. Reference E 184 .A 75 K 49 2015
Atlas of Hispanic - American History Reference E 184 .S 75 O 287 2001
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Reference E 184 .S 75 O 97 2005
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement Reference E184 .M 5 M 458 2000
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
Latino America: A State - by - State Encyclopedia Reference E 184 .S 75 L 35555 2008
Latino Chronology: Chronologies of the American Mosaic. Reference E 184 S 75 F 543 2007
Latino Issues: A Reference Handbook Reference E 184 .S 75 S 23 2011
Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia
Latinos and Latinas at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice
Unidos.US (for civil rights; formerly the National Council of La Raza)
Farther down within this box are entries about Veils and available Videos.
Arab Americans and Racism reading
American Muslim Women : Negotiating Race, Class, and Gender within the Ummah. General E 184 .M 88 K 37 2009
Acts of Faith : the Story of an American Muslim, the Struggle for the Soul of a Generation. General E 184 .M 88 P 38 2007
American Muslim Women, Religious Authority, and Activism : More than a Prayer. General BP 173.4 .H 3654 2012
Arab and Muslim Civil Rights Issues in the Chicago Metropolitan Area Post-September 11. General F 548.9 .A 65 U 55 2003
Becoming Muslim : Western Women's Conversions to Islam. General BP 170.5 .A 1 M 36 2006
Being a Muslim in the World. General BP 163 .D 298 2013
Blaming Islam. General BP 67 .U 6 B 69 2012
Current Controversies: Islamophobia. General BP 52 .I 853 2013
Detained without Cause : Muslims' Stories of Detention and Deportation in America after 9/11. General E 184 .M 88 S 55 2011
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History.
The Face behind the Veil : The Extraordinary Lives of Muslim Women in America. General HQ 1170 .G 43 2006
Fueling our Fears : Stereotyping, Media Coverage, and Public Opinion of Muslim Americans. General E 184 .M 88 N 33 2007
A History of Islam in America : From the New World to the New World Order. General BP 67 .U 6 G 43 2010
Homeland Insecurity : The Arab American and Muslim American Experience after 9/11. General E 184 .A 65 C 35 2009
I Speak for Myself : American Women on being Muslim. General BP 67 .A 1 I 2 2011
Islamophobia in America : The Anatomy of Intolerance. General E 184 .M 88 I 65 2013
Islamophobia: Making Muslims the Enemy. General E 184 .M 88 G 68 2008
Islamophobia : The Challenge of Pluralism in the 21st Century. General BP 52 .I 854 2011
Living Islam Out Loud : American Muslim Women Speak. General BP 67.A 1 L 58 2005
Moving the Mountain : Beyond Ground Zero to a New Vision of Islam in America. General BP 67 .U 6 A 238 2012
Muslim American Youth : Understanding Hyphenated Identities through Multiple Methods. General E 184 .M 88 S 57 2008
The Muslim Next Door : The Qurʼan, the Media, and that Veil Thing. General BP 161.3 .A 374 2008
Muslim Women in America : The Challenge of Islamic Identity Today. General E 184 .M 88 H 34 2006
Muslims in America: Examining the Facts
Muslims in the Western Imagination. General BP 52 .S 43 2015
The Oxford Handbook of American Islam. General BP 67 .U 6 O 94 201
Scapegoating Islam : Intolerance, Security, and the American Muslim. General E 184 .M 88 T 46 2015
Shi'ism in America. General BP 192.7 .U 6 T 35 2011
Silent Victims : The Plight of Arab & Muslim Americans in Post 9/11 America. General E 184 .A 65 E 37 2004
The Uncultured Wars : Arabs, Muslims, and the Poverty of Liberal Thought.
Veils
Veiling reading no.1
The Islamic Veil: A Beginner's Guide. General BP 190.5 .H 44 B 83 2012
A Quiet Revolution : The Veil's Resurgence, from the Middle East to America. General BP 190.5 .H 44 A 46 2011
Visibly Muslim: Passion, Politics, and Faith. General BP 190.5 .C 6 T 37 2010
What is Veiling? General BP 190.5 .H 44 A 535 2014
Videos
Born in the USA: Muslim Americans. General BP 67 .U 6 B 67 2003
Muslim Life in America after 9/11. General E 184 .M 88 A 223 2006
Under One Sky: Arab Women in North America talk about the Hijab. Circulation Desk HQ 1784 .U 644 2000
Wearing Hijab: Uncovering the Myths of Islam in the United States. General BP 67.U6 W42 2003
Native Americans and Racism reading
American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia. Reference E 98 .R 3 C 755 2005
American Indians at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice
Atlas of the North American Indian
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights. General KF 8210 .C 5 E 53 1997
Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World. Reference E 54 .K 46 2002
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume. General E 98 .C 8 P 37 1994
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature. Reference PM 153 .I 52 E 53 2007
Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal. Reference E 98.R 4 E 63 2011
Encyclopedia of Native American Healing. Reference E 98 .M 4 L 96 1996
Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century Reference E 77 .W 84 2015
Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
Health and Social Issues of Native American Women
Native American Issues: A Reference Handbook. General E 98 .T 77 T 56 2005
Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary. Reference E 98 .W 8 B 39 2001
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Cultures and Peoples.
Food and Culture
The A - to - Z Encyclopedia of Food Controversies and the Law. Reference KF 3869 .W 53 2011
The A - to - Z Guide to Food as Medicine. General RM 216 .K 67 2019
Archaeology of Food: An Encyclopedia
Atlas of Food: Who Eats What, Where, and Why. Reference HD 9000.5 .M 52 2008
Cambridge World History of Food. General TX 353 .C 255 2000
The Canadian Food Encyclopedia. Reference TX 360 .C 3 J 335 2013
The Chicago Food Encyclopedia. Reference TX 360 .U 63 C 4524 2017
Chocolate: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Cooking through History: A Worldwide Encyclopedia of Food with Menus and Recipes
Diets and Dieting: A Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference RM 214.5 .G 55 2008
The Diner's Dictionary: Word Origins of Food and Drink. Reference TX 349 .A 86 2012
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Fast Food and Junk Food: An Encyclopedia of What We Love to Eat. Reference TX 370 .S 635 2012
Food: An Atlas. Reference TX 353 .F 547 2013
Food and Drink in American History: An Encyclopedia. Reference TX 349 .F 5716 2013
Food and World Culture: Issues, Impacts, and Ingredients
Food Cultures of the United States: Recipes, Customs, and Issues
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Food History Almanac: Over 1,300 Years of World Culinary History, Culture, and Social Influence. Reference TX 353 .C 568 2014
A Foodie's Guide to Capitalism: Understanding the Political Economy of What We Eat. General HD 1436 .H 65 2017
The Foodlover's Atlas of the World. General TX 355 .S 48 2002
Foods that Changed History: How Foods Shaped Civilization from the Ancient World to the Present. Reference TX 349 .C 86 2015
The Gourmet Atlas. General TX 355 .W 37 1997
International Cookbook of Lifespan Celebrations
The Joy of Eating: A Guide to Food in Modern Pop Culture
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink. Reference TX 349 .O 94 2007
The Oxford Companion to Beer. Reference TP 570 .O 94 2012
The Oxford Companion to Cheese. Reference SF 270.2 .O 94 2016
The Oxford Companion to Food. Reference TX 349 .D 36 2014
The Oxford Companion to Italian Food. Reference TX 723 .R 5265 2009
The Oxford Companion to Sugar and Sweets. Reference TP 421 .O 94 2015
The Oxford Companion to Wine. Reference TP 548 .O 76 2015
The Oxford Handbook of Food Ethics. General TX 357 .O 94 2018
The Penguin Atlas of Food. General HD 9000.5 .M 52 2003
The Penguin Companion to Food. Reference TX 349 .D 38 2002
The World Atlas of Food: A Gourmet's Guide to the Great Regional Dishes of the World. General TX 725 .A 1 W66 1974
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence. Reference TX 349 .S 66 2013
Globalization
Global Migration Research Guide
Globalization and American Foreign Policy
Globalization and Infectious Disease
Globalization and Science Ethics
Globalization in Society, History, and Culture
Opinions Throughout History: Globalization. Reference JZ 1318 .I 775 2020
Dictionary of Globalization Reference JZ 1318 .J 66 2006
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History Reference GE 10 .E 535 2004
Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
Globalization: A Reference Handbook
Encyclopedia of Global Studies
Encyclopedia of the Developing World Reference HC 59.7 .E 52 2006
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia Reference GF 50 .J 65 2003
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Principles of Business: Globalization
The War of Words [A Glossary and Discussion of Themes and Concepts]
Health, Illness, Society, and Culture
Ethnic Inequalities in Health .
COD Library Research Guide on Addictions and Substance Abuse
COD Library Research Guide on Aging
COD Library Research Guide on Controversial Topics
COD Library Research Guide on Global Health
COD Library Research Guide on Human Services
COD Library Research Guide on Hunger and Food Security (Part of the Food and Culture section)
COD Library Research Guide on Medical Anthropology
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body.
Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia .
Diets and Dieting: A Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference RM 214.5 .G 55 2008
Encyclopedia of Aging . Reference HQ 1061 .E 53 2006
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience Reference HQ 1073 .E 544 2009
Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care . Reference RC 954 .E 53 2008
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures . Reference RA 418 .E 354 2004
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development. Reference HM 626 .E 538 2009
Encyclopedia of Public Health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health.
Ethnic Diseases Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information. General RA 563 .M 56 E 838 2020
Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health.
Health and Social Issues of Native American Women .
Health Care Systems Around the World.
Health Disparities in the United States: Social Class, Race, Ethnicity, and Health. General RA 418.3 .U 6 B 37 2008
Key Concepts in Health Psychology.
Key Concepts in Health Studies.
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia.
Minority Populations and Health: An Introduction to Health Disparities in the United States.
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition, and Dietetics.
Religion: A Clinical Guide for Nurses. General RT 85.2 .R 45 2012
Sage Dictionary of Health and Society Reference RA 418 .W 439 2006
Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society. Reference RA 423 .W 554 2014
Marriage and Families
Controversial Topics Research GuideEncyclopedia of Family Life. Reference HQ 534 .E 53 1999
The Family in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 536 .H 365 2001
Encyclopedia of Love in World Religions.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family.
Key Concepts in Family Studies.
Major Problems in the History of American Families and Children: Documents and Essays. General HQ 535 .M 348 2005
Marriage Customs of the World : An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions .
Marriage, Family, and Relationships : A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference GN 307 .E 64 M 3 1994
Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 755.8 .P 3783 2000
Parenting
Adolescence in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 796 .A 33244 2001
Adolescent Health and Wellness (an encyclopedia).. Reference RA 777 .A 36 2015
Boy Culture: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 797 .B 69 2010
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion. Reference HQ 767.84 .C 55 2009
Community and Family Health Issues: An Encyclopedia of Trends, Conditions, and Treatments. Reference RA 418.5 .F 3 C 666 2017
Digital Literacy: Skills and Strategies. Reference QA 76.9 .C 64 D 5558 2022
Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia. Reference LB 1139.23 .E 272 2007
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse. Reference HV 6626.5 .C 57 2007
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society. Reference HQ 767.84 .E 53 2004
Encyclopedia of Family Life. Reference HQ 534 .E 53 1999
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development. Reference HQ 767.84 .E 545 2008
The Encyclopedia of Infant and Toddler Activities for Children Birth to 3
Encyclopedia of Motherhood. Reference HQ 759 .E 52 2010
Encyclopedia of Special Education
Encyclopedia on Early Childhood Education
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health
Girlhood in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 777.G 5745 2001
Infancy in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 774 .I 528 2001
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Reference HQ 796 .I 58 2007
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide. Reference HQ 767.84 .G 74 2008
Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 755.8 .P 3783 2000
Parenting: Styles and Strategies. Reference HQ 755.8 .P 27468 2022
Principles of Sociology: Personal relationships & Behavior. Reference HM 1106 .P 756 2018
The Sage Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies
Teens Growing Up: Skills and Strategies. Reference HQ 796 .T 4467 2023
Teen Mental Health: An Encyclopedia of Issues and Solutions
Digital Literacy: Skills and Strategies. Reference QA 76.9 .C 64 D 5558 2022
The Encyclopedia of Infant and Toddler Activities for Children Birth to 3
Life in the Times of COVID-19: A Guide for Parents of Children with Disabilities
Parenting for Liberation: A Guide for Raising Black Children
Parenting: Skills and Strategies. Reference HQ 755.8 .P 27468 2022
The Power of Presence: A Guide to Mindfulness Practices in Early Childhood
Practical Strategies for Supporting Young Children through Change and Everyday Transitions
Teaching Social Skills to Children with Autism using Minecraft: A Step-by-Step Guide. General RJ 506 .A 9 D 862 2019
When a Child Dies: A Hopeful Healing Guide to Surviving the Loss of a Child
Background Readings
What is Children's Literature?
Gender Images in Children's Literature
Reference Materials
American Writers for Children:
Before 1900. Reference PN 451 .D 5 vol.42 1985
1900 - 1960. Reference PN 451 .D 5 vol.22 1983
Since 1960: Fiction. Reference PN 451 .D 5 vol.52 1986
Since 1960: Poets, Illustrators, and Non-Fiction Authors. Reference PN 451 .D 5 vol.61 1987
Black Authors and Illustrators of Books for Children and Young Adults. General PN 1009 .A 1 M 87 2007
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Dictionary of American Children's Fiction: Books of Recognized Merit
1859 - 1959. Reference PS 374 .C 454 H 45 1985
1960 - 1984. Reference PS 374 .C 454 H 45 1986
1985 - 1989. Reference PS 374 .C 454 H 45 1993
Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature
The International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. Reference PN 1008.5 .I 57 1996
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. Reference PN 1008.5 .O 94 2006
The Reader's Advisory Guide to Genre Blends for Children and Young Adults. Reference Z 711.5 .D 49 2022
Race and Discrimination
COD Anti-Racism and Anti-Oppression Guide
COD Library African American History research guide
COD Library Juneteenth research guide
See also the Documents and Readers section in this box.
There is a guide for Diversity above this one.
There is a guide for Ethnic Groups just below the Diversity guide.
A discussion of Racism in the United States.
Citizenship Education and Diversity
Literary Theme: Race and Prejudice in American Literature.
Literary Theme: Religion, Race, and Prejudice
Online Games and Racism, Sexism, and Homophobia
Race and Human Genome Variation
Race/Ethnicity and Victimization
Racial Discrimination and the Law
Sociology of Ethnic and Racial Relations
Why Reference Sources?
Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper? Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?
Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases. Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run. Use reference sources to:
- find a topic
- narrow your topic
- find keywords
- get background information on your topic
Civil Rights Movement: A Reference Guide. General E 185.61 .C 6148 2019
Civil Rights Movement: An Encyclopedia
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity, and Culture.
Encyclopedia of American Race Riots. Volume 1 (A - M), Volume 2 (N - Z)
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime. Reference HV 6789 .E 43 2009
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies. Reference GN 495.6 .C 37 2004
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. Reference HT 1521 .E 63 2008.
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States.. Reference E 184 .A 1 E 773 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U.S. Military: An Encyclopedia.
Ethnic and Racial Relations in America. Reference E 49 .R 33 2017
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity. Reference GN 495.6 .M 445 2014
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Race and Education
Race and Racism: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic.
Race and Sports: A Reference Handbook. General GV 706.32 .M 96 2021
Race in American Television: Voices and Visions that Shaped a Nation
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America: An Encyclopedia
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History : An Encyclopedia.
A State - by - State History of Race and Racism in the United States
This section has sub-sections for Background Readings, Reference Materials, and Websites, in that order.
There is a guide for Criminal Justice / Justice Studies, click here to go to it.
There is a guide for Social and Restorative Justice, click here to go to it.
There is a guide for African American / Black history and culture, click here to go to it.
Background Readings
African American Criminal Injustice
Are there Other Racial or Ethnic Groups Who Experience Disproportionate Incarceration?
Race, Ethnicity and Punishment
What Causes the Disproportionate Imprisonment of African Americans?
What Should be Done to Address Racial Disparities in Incarceration?
Reference Materials
Crime and Punishment in America : An Encyclopedia of Trends and Controversies in the Justice System.
Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook. General HV 6773.52 .A 47 2015
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Crime, Media and Popular Culture
Palgrave Dictionary of Public Order Policing, Protest and Political Violence Reference HV 8055 .J 69 2014
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia.
See also the larger and broader collection of Criminal Justice reference books by clicking here.
Websites
List of COD Library books on this topic.
List of COD Library videos on this topic.
A Collection of articles on the issue of Black Lives Matter
Black Freedom Struggle in the Untied States: Open Access Documents on the Pursuit of Equality
Black Thought and Culture database, which contains many older documents, articles and books.
Black Immigrants in North America: Essays on Race, Immigration, Identity, Language, Hip-Hop, Pedagogy, and the Politics of Becoming Black. General F 1035 .N 3 I 268 2020
Civil Rights Movement: A Documentary Reader
The Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America
Documents of American Prejudice: An Anthology of Writings from Thomas Jefferson to David Duke. General E 184 .A 1 D 65 1999
Hate Crimes (The Reference Shelf)
The Inequality Reader: Contemporary and Foundational Readings in Race, Class, and Gender
Race, Crime, and Justice: A Reader. General HV 6197 .U 5 R 334 2005
Racism: A Global Reader. General HT 1521 .R 323 2003
Rethinking the Color Line: Readings in Race and Ethnicity. Reserves Main Campus Library Circulation; SOCIO2215
Seeking the Beloved Community: A Feminist Race Reader.
Theories of Race and Racism: A Reader
Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America: A Resource Guide
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism
Ku Klux Klan background reading
Reverse Discrimination discussion
White Privilege background reading
White Supremacy background reading
Anger and Racial Politics : The Emotional Foundation of Racial Attitudes in America. General E 185.615 .B 2846 2014
Angry White Men : American Masculinity at the End of an Era.
Colored Property : State Policy and White Racial Politics in Suburban America.
Cyber Racism : White Supremacy Online and the New Attack on Civil Rights. General E 184 .A 1 D 244 2009
Dear White America: A Letter to the New Minority. General E 184 .A 1 W 573 2012
Encyclopedia of White Power : A Sourcebook on the Radical Racist Right. Reference HT 1523 .E 53 2000
The Ku Klux Klan: An Encyclopedia. Reference HS 2330 .K 63 N 49 1991
White over Black: American Attitudes toward the Negro, 1550-1812. General E 185 .J 69
White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of our Racial Divide. General E 185.61 .A 5438 2016
White Supremacy Groups. General E 184 .A 1 .W 3963 2008
COD Anti-Racism and Anti-Oppression Guide
COD Library African American History research guide
COD Library Juneteenth research guide
Global Migration Research Guide
Black Freedom Struggle in the Untied States: Open Access Documents on the Pursuit of Equality
The Library of Congress Civil Rights History Collection
National Museum of African American History and Culture
Sex
[You can also find information on this topic in the Anthropology, Body Language, Psychology, and Women and Gender library research guides.]
Biological Bases of Sex Differences
Pornography, Health Consequences of
Pornography, Legal and Political Aspects
Racial/Biological Basis of Sexuality
Sex in Established Relationships
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality. General HQ 21 .I 68 2004
Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Love, Sexuality, and Desire
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Penis.
A Descriptive Dictionary and Atlas of Sexology. Reference HQ 9 .D 34 1991
Dirty Words: A Literary Encyclopedia of Sex
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance. Reference BR 697.5 .B 63 E 55 2012
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work. Reference HQ 115 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality: Understanding Biology, Psychology, and Culture
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law. Reference KF 9325 .A 68 M 33 2006
Faces around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia of the Human Face.
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.13 .G 37 2000
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship and Sexuality throughout History. Reference HQ 21 .G 67125 2008
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities. Reference HQ 1090 .I 58 2007
Key Concepts in Body and Society
Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies. Reference HQ 1180 .K 49 2021
Sex and Sexuality: A Thematic Dictionary of Quotations. Reference HQ 21 .S 47158 1993
Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 12 .S 423 2006
Social Media
Social Media and Relationships
At Issue: Are Social Networking Sites Harmful? General HM 742 .A 742 2015
At Issue: User - Generated Content. General ZA 4482 .U 48 2007
Debates for the Digital Age: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of our Online World. General HM 851 .D 4325 2016
Related library research guides:
Debates for the Digital Age: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of our Online World. General HM 851 .D 4325 2016
A Dictionary of Media and Communication
Digital Literacy: Skills and Strategies. Reference QA 76.9 .C 64 D 5558 2022
The Emerald International Handbook of Technology - Facilitated Violence and Abuse
Encyclopedia of Gender in the Media
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media. Reference P 96 .A 44 E 53 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining. Reference QA 76.9 .D 343 E 538 2014
Encyclopedia of Social Networks
The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society
International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media
Opinions throughout History: Social Media
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Citizen Media
The SAGE Handbook of Social Network Analysis
Social Media: A Reference Handbook. General HM 742 .S 628153 2017
Tweeting to Freedom: An Encyclopedia of Citizen Protests and Uprisings Around the World. General HM 741 .W 55 2017
Social Problems and Culture Wars
Reference Books
Atlas of Global Inequalities.
Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
The Destructive Power of Religion: Violence in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, essays. Reference BL 65 .V 55 D 47 2004
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. Reference BL 65 .P7 E 53 2007
Encyclopedia of Religion and War. Reference BL 80.3 .E 53 2004
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States.
Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence.
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media. Reference P 96 .A 44 E 53 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Problems. Reference HN 28 .E55 2008
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide .
Guns in American Society : An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law. Reference HV 7436 .G8783 2002
Inequality in America: Causes and Consequences
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Race and Racism: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic.
Religion and Violence: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present.
Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues.
Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HN 57 .S 624 2006
Today's Social Issues: Democrats and Republicans.
Vaccination Controversies: A Reference Handbook. General RA 638 .N 495 2013
The World's Population : An Encyclopedia of Critical issues, Crises, and Ever-Growing Countries.
Technology and Society
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion. Reference BL 240.3 .E 53 2003
Encyclopedia of Transportation: Social Science and Policy.
Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: An Encyclopedia.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology.
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence: Opinions Throughout History
Sage Encyclopedia of Online Education.
Science, Religion, and Society : An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy.
Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia. Reference HM 846 .S 43 2005
Technology and Humanity: Critical Insights to Literature. General PN 56 .T 37 2013
Women and Gender Studies
Abortion/Birth Control, LGBTQ/Transgender, Lifespan Development, Women in the Middle East, Women in the Military, in that order
LGBTQ/Transgender
Background Readings
Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States. Reference PS 153 .S 39 E 53 2009
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture. Reference HQ 75.13 .P 76 2008
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. Reference HQ 76.3 .U 5 E 53 2004
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.13 .G 37 2000
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia. Reference BL 65 .H 64 H 63 2007
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.5 .L 4395 2000
LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 73.3 .U 6 L 43 2009
LGBTQ: Defining Documents in American History
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture. Ref HQ 76.96 .R 68 2011
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Women in the Middle East
Background Readings
Women's Economic History in the Middle East
List of COD Library videos on Women in the Middle East
Reference Books
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and North Africa: An Encyclopedia. {Under Construction}
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa.
Encyclopedia of Women in Islamic Cultures. Reference HQ 1170 .E 53 2003
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: The Middle East and North Africa. Reference HQ 1115 .G 7 2003
Women in the Military
Women and the Military: An Encyclopedia. General U 21.75 .S 54 1996
Women and War : A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present. Reference U 24 .W 69 2006
Women and War in the 21st Century: A Country-by-Country Guide
Women in Combat: A Reference Handbook. General UB 418 .W 65 S 563 2011
A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women. Reference HQ1136 .L54 2008
American Countercultures: An Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles. Reference HM 647 .A 44 2009
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia.
Battleground: Women, Gender and Sexuality. Reference HQ 1115 .B 38 2008
Beauty Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia.
Biographical Dictionary for Women.
Boy Culture: An Encyclopedia. Reference. HQ 797 .B 69 2010
Coming of Age in Popular Culture : Teenagers, Adolescence, and the Art of Growing Up
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Critical Insights to Literature: Gender, Sex, and Sexuality. General PN 56 .S 5 G 56 2014
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body.
Daily Life of Women: An Encyclopedia from Ancient Times to the Present
The Drag Dictionary: An Illustrated Glossary of Fierce Queen Slang. Reference HQ 73 .D 432 2021
Eating Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention.
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance. Ref. BF 697.5 .B 63 E55 2012
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture. Reference HQ 75.13 .P 76 2008
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media. Reference P 96.S5 E53 2012
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Encyclopedia of Love in World Religions.
Encyclopedia of Motherhood. Reference HQ 759 .E 52 2010
Encyclopedia of Rape. Reference HV 6558 .E 53 2004
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures.
Encyclopedia of Sexism in American Films
Encyclopedia of Social Networks.
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics. Reference HQ 1236.5 .U 6 E 52 2008
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Reference BL 458 .E 52 2006
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World.
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance : Italy, France, and England. Reference HQ 1148 .W 67 2007
Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture across History
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers. General HQ 1236 .R29 2001
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife.
Encyclopedia of Women's History in the United States
Faces Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia of the Human Face.
Feet and Footwear: A Cultural Encyclopedia.
Female Action Heroes : A Guide to Women in Comics, Video Games, Film, and Television.
Feminism: Critical Insights to Literature. General PN 56 .F 46 F 4656 2020
Feminist Philosophies, A to Z.
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women
Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook. General HQ 1237 ,N 49 2019
Gender, Sex, and Sexuality: Critical Insights to Literature
Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia.
Great Lives from History: LGBTQ
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide. Reference HQ 1115 .G 7 2003
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Reference HQ 796 .I 58 2007
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family.
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities. Reference HQ 1090 .I 58 2007
International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage.
Key Concepts in Feminist Theory and Research .
Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies. Reference HQ 1180 .K 49 2021
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
LGBTQ Events in History. Reference HQ 73 .L 438 2017
Marriage Customs of the World : An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions.
Men and Masculinity: The Basics. General HQ 1090 .E 315 2017
Misogyny in American Culture: Causes, Trends, and Solutions
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History. Reference HN 57 .O 94 2012
Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and Policy
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Pride: A Celebration in Quotes
The Queen's English: The LGBTQIA+ Dictionary of LIngo and Colloguial Phrases.
Queer Cinema in America: An Encyclopedia
Routledge Encyclopedia of Queer Culture. Reference HQ 76.96 .R 68 2011
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. Reference HQ 1115 .R 69 2000
The Sage Encyclopedia of Trans Studies
Women Adventurers,1750-1900 : A Biographical Dictionary, with Excerpts from Selected Travel Writings. Reference G 245 .M 38 2008
Women and Health: Global Lives in Focus. General RA 778 .W 674 2020
Women and Religion: Global Lives in Focus
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. General LC 1569 .W 66 2002
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 1115 .W 6 2000
Women's Health. Reference RA 564.85 .W 664 2019
The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism. Reference HQ 1115 .W 644 2006
Women's Rights in the United States : A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People.
Women's Roles and Statuses the World Over. Reference HQ 1236 .H 46 2006
Women's Studies Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 1115 .W 645 1999
Beyond Rosie: A Documentary History of Women and World War II. General D 810 .W 7 B 49 2015
Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ (1923 -2018)
Defining Documents in World History: Women's Rights (1429 - 2017)
The Gendered Society Reader. General HQ 1075 .G 4672 2011
Male Privilege. (a collection of readings) General HQ 1090 .M 3287 2020
Major Problems in American Women's History: Documents and Essays. General HQ 1410 .M 34 1996
Opinions throughout History: Gender: Roles and Rights
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000, a database of documents and articles
