Call Numbers are the address of items (books, DVDs, etc.) on the shelves in the Library. The COD Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System, while public and school libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The information provided here should help you understand what the call number represents, and how to find materials on the Library's shelves.
Use the Library Catalog to find materials in the Library.
I have a Call Number - What Subject does it Represent?
This Library of Congress call number equals what Dewey Decimal System call number?
This Dewey Decimal System call number equals what Library of Congress call number?
Maps of the Library: Lower Level and Upper Level
These designations will appear in front of a Call Number, so you know where an item is located.
If you cannot find an item on the shelf, please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk on each floor.
ARCHIVES - - This is the special collection near the upstairs Circulation Desk. Click here for more information.
ATLAS STAND -- These shelves hold non-circulating oversize atlases. They are located on the lower level, between the stairs and the Media Lab. Click here for more information.
BOUND PERIODICALS - - These are located towards the northwest corner of the upper level. Click here and scroll down the new page for more information.
CCIC - - The Career and College Information Center, located behind the upstairs Reference Desk. Click here for more information.
CIRC DESK or CIRCULATION DESK - - This refers to books or videos that are held behind the downstairs Circulation Desk, where you can request them. Click here for more information.
CURRENT PERIODICALS - - These recent magazines, journals and newspapers are located on the north side of the lower level. Click here for more information.
ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS or ELL or ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE or ESL -- These items are located near the CCIC collection. Click here for more information.
GEN or GENERAL - - This is the large collection of books and DVD's on the upper level that you can check out, also know as the Circulating Collection or the Stacks.
GRAPHIC NOVELS - - These are located on the upper level. Click here for more information.
MEDIA LAB -- This area is located on the lower level, back near the restrooms. Click here for more information.
MICROFILM or MICROFORM or MICROFICHE -- These items are located on the upper level. You can ask for assistance at the upper Reference Desk. Click here for more information. The machine to use these items is located on the lower level at the Computing and Printing Services station.
MUSIC CDs - - These are located towards the southwest corner of the upper level. Click here for more information.
NEW BOOKS - - These are located on the upper level near the Reference Desk. Click here for more information.
PAPERBACKS - - This collection of popular books is located upstairs. Click here for more information.
POPULAR VIDEOS -- This collection of popular movie DVD's is located on the upper level. Click here for more information.
PHIL or PHILANTHROPY - - This collection is located in front of the upstairs Reference Desk. Click here for more information.
READY REFERENCE - - Reference books located behind the downstairs Reference Desk; some may be found at the upstairs Reference Desk. Click here for more information.
REF or REFERENCE - - Reference books located in the Reference Collection on the lower level.
RESERVES - - Materials located behind the downstairs Circulation Desk, where you can request them. Click here for more information.
TEST PREP -- These items are located on the upper level, on the east side of the CCIC collection, not far from the upper level Reference Desk. Click here for more information.
If you need help finding materials, please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk on each floor.
