History - Primary Source Collections: Articles

Academic Search Complete provides both popular and scholarly journal coverage and video clips for nearly all academic areas of study including: social sciences, humanities, education, technology, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies. Academic Search Complete is a great starting point for most general research.

This is the historical archive of the Daily Herald and its predecessors dating back to 1901. Full-text and digital scans from the original newspapers are available.

A database of print material from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic (1691 to 1877), covering nearly all aspects of American life and society. Each series can be accessed individually from library.cod.edu/aas

JSTOR provides electronic access to major journal titles, eBooks, and images. Subjects covered by this database include art, biology, business, ecology, botany, general science, language, literature, mathematics, sustainability, security, music, and more. JSTOR is a great resource for general research. A personal account can be created to store and organize resources.

Literature Resource Center contains analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

Westlaw Next is a comprehensive collection of law-related information resources along with news and business information. It contains information on primary law, analytical materials, litigation insights, case law, core legal reference materials, and much more. Westlaw also provides access to Black's Law Dictionary and the Illinois Practice Series available on the "Secondary Sources" page.

Secondary Sources How-To

This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. 

Credo Reference provides access to a broad selection of dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles. Includes a built-in mind map to help students brainstorm search terms. Credo is a great place to start your research.