Books
Frida Kahlo: Making Herself Up
A window into Kahlo's life focusing on the personal, combining her prosthetics, jewelry, and clothes with self-portraits, diary entries, and letters to build an intimate portrait of the artist through her possessions, setting this in the context of her political and social beliefs.
Self Portrait in a Velvet Dress
Ninety-five original and beautifully staged photographs of Kahlo's restored clothing are paired with historic photos of the artist wearing them and her paintings in which the garments appear.
El Ropero de Frida
Richly illustrated with numerous color photographs of Frida Kahlo´s wardrobe and personal objects. This book is in Spanish.
Kahlo: Self-Portrait with Cropped Hair
Neutral hues, an ill-fitting man's suit and wiggling locks of cut hair supplant Frida Kahlo's usual lively color palette, indigenous Mexican dress and long plaits in Self-Portrait with Cropped Hair (1940). In the wake of divorce, Kahlo turns to her favorite genre, self-portraiture, to express her deepest emotional and psychological urges.
Articles from Library Databases
Try searching for different combinations of keywords such as KAHLO AND FASHION or KAHLO AND CLOTHING.
Sources available through our databases can be accessed by COD students, faculty, and staff with your COD MyAccess username and password.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides both popular and scholarly journal coverage and video clips for nearly all academic areas of study including: social sciences, humanities, education, technology, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies. Academic Search Complete is a great starting point for most general research.
-
Art & Architecture Complete
Art and Architecture Complete provides popular and scholarly articles, images, and videos for a broad range of related subjects including antiques, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, costume design, decorative arts, graphic arts, interior and landscape design, painting, printmaking and sculpture. Images are stored as PDFs.
-
Associates Programs Source Plus
Associates Programs Source Plus contains popular and scholarly articles and videos for areas such as accounting, agriculture, childcare, computer science, cosmetology, criminal justice, culinary arts, fashion, fire science, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality, interior design, massage therapy, plumbing, veterinary technology, and welding.
-
JSTOR
JSTOR provides electronic access to major journal titles, eBooks, and images. Subjects covered by this database include art, biology, business, ecology, botany, general science, language, literature, mathematics, sustainability, security, music, and more. JSTOR is a great resource for general research. A personal account can be created to store and organize resources.
-
WGSN Fashion
WGSN is an online news, information and fashion images database for the fashion and style industries. Coverage on fashion trends, forecasting, design, company profiles, and news items on e-commerce, finance, advertising, and marketing. Sign in with your COD email to access this resource.
NOTE: WGSN Insights and Interiors are no longer available.
Websites
-
Frida Kahlo & Contemporary Thoughts: FashionDescriptions and images of Frida Kahlo inspired runway fashion collections from various designers dating back to 1998
-
CNN Style: How Frida Kahlo's Fashions Brought Mexican Politics to the World StageProvides a glimpse into the reasoning behind Frida Kahlo’s carefully crafted appearance. “... Kahlo used her dress as both adornment and metaphor and brought Mexican identity politics to the world stage.”
-
What Frida Kahlo’s Clothing Tells Us About Fashion’s Disability FrontierThis Dazed article discusses Frida Kahlo’s deliberate clothing choices as an expression of her identity with a focus on the way she “dressed her broken body.”
-
The Real Story Behind Frida Kahlo’s StyleThis New York Times article discusses the 2018 exhibition at the Victoria and Albert Museum. The exhibition was the first to display Frida Kahlo’s clothing that was discovered at her home in 2004. Many images are included.
-
See Frida Kahlo’s Corsets, Prosthetics, Cosmetics—and ArtThis artnet news article discusses the recent Brooklyn Museum exhibition that paired Frida Kahlo’s artwork with her clothing and personal objects. Many detailed images are included.
-
Appearances Can Be DeceivingGoogle Arts and Culture takes us inside the Brooklyn Museum exhibition, offering extreme closeups of many of the objects that were on display.
-
Frida Kahlo’s Colorful Wardrobe Finally Revealed After Being Hidden for 50 YearsThis article includes vivid, detailed images of some of Frida Kahlo's clothing and personal items items that had been sealed away for decades.
-
Tracing Frida Kahlo’s Influence on the Fashion WorldDiscussion and images of Frida Kahlo inspired fashion.