One hundred titles representing a wide range of opinion on a single controversial subject. Each volume includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives -- eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials and many others. Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations to contact offer a gateway to future research.
Contemporary World Issues
The ABC-CLIO Contemporary World Issues Collection highlights 74 reference works covering a wide range of compelling, relevant topics in the US and internationally. Addressing issues of current interest, such as political participation, immigration, and homelessness, this collection offers students a compelling research tool.
Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of primary sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic. Extensive book and periodical bibliographies and a list of organizations to contact are also included.
Global Viewpoints examines a range of current, often controversial issues and topics, from a variety of international perspectives. Each anthology features a wealth of speeches, government documents, essays from respected authors, articles from international magazines and information from worldwide news sources.
The Information Plus Reference Series provides statistical data on 32 of today's most controversial and most studied social issues. Each Information Plus title is a compilation of current and historical statistics -- with analysis -- on aspects of one contemporary social issue, such as abortion, capital punishment, and genetic engineering. Each title is divided into chapters that are devoted to a particular topic. The text provides a clear and comprehensive summary of up-to-date research on the topic and is interspersed with the statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Each table is directly referred to and carefully explained in the text.
Issues On Trial
Each volume focuses on a specific issue, presenting primary source materials like the text of court rulings and dissenting opinions, as well as analysis and opinion on the rulings. This engaging series offers a wealth of information on the historical and contemporary aspects of issues confronting society, while meeting the academic demand for reliable information tied to law and social sciences.
Each title explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. By choosing from such diverse sources and including both popular and unpopular views, the Opposing Viewpoints editorial team has adhered to its commitment to editorial objectivity. Readers are exposed to many sides of a debate, which promotes issue awareness as well as critical thinking.
What Everyone Needs to Know
Each volume in the series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries. Popular topics include International Politics, Environmental Policies, World History, Sciences & Math, and Religion & Spirituality.
Below are just a few librarian-selected resources that are freely available online. For more information about these websites and the organizations that publish them, look for their ABOUT US pages.
The Annenberg Public Policy Center
Policy briefs and research on the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, child development, health care, civics and mental health, and other areas.
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization — a think tank – dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace. Its scholars and analysts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues.
Information Is Beautiful
Visual maps of facts, data, ideas, subjects, issues, statistics, questions.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Find data, reports, and insight on politics, media, social trends, religion, technology, science and more.
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
Provides resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias.
Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda conducts nonpartisan, in-depth, nuanced opinion research with the general public and/or specific stakeholder groups on a wide range of issues.
Current event databases not only provide thorough reports on trending topics but are a great place to begin your research. Browse topics for ideas or use reports as background information. Both databases provide links to relevant resources - an easy way to jumpstart your research!
To access Library databases from off-campus, you will need your MyAccess credentials.