Ebooks about authors or American Literature
The Great Gatsby
The only edition of the beloved classic that is authorized by Fitzgerald's family and from his lifelong publisher.
The Vonnegut Effect
Considering both Vonnegut's methods and the cultural needs they have served, Klinkowitz explains how those works came to be written and concludes with an assessment of the author's place in American fiction.
Ernest Hemingway
This title includes in-depth critical discussions of his life and works.
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court
In Mark Twain's 1889 novel A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, Hank Morgan awakes from a blow to the head only to find that he has been mysteriously transported back in time.
Louisa May Alcott
A great starting point for students seeking an introduction to Louisa May Alcott and the critical discussions surrounding her work.
Edgar Allan Poe
Most frequently regarded as a writer of the supernatural, Poe was actually among the most versatile of American authors, writing social satire, comic hoaxes, mystery stories, science fiction, prose poems, literary criticism and theory, and even a play.
Ebooks
The College of Dupage library has access to a large collection of eBooks. To find these books take a look at the databases listed below.
- Overdrive contains eBooks by American authors Learn more about OverDrive here.
A good resource to find classic literature
Gale eBooks is a collection of online reference books on a variety of topics including Literature
- Salem Press
The Salem Press database is divided into five categories: Literature, History, Science, Health & Psychology, and Careers & Business. Researchers can keyword search the whole platform, the individual categories, or just search a specific title. The main page of the database lists each category as well as all eBook titles found within the categories.
- Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate provides both popular and scholarly journal coverage and video clips for nearly all academic areas of study including: arts & literature. Academic Search Complete is a great starting point for most general research.
Many examples of classic literature are freely available on the internet. These books, stories and poems can be published online because the copyright terms of the works have expired and they are in the Public Domain. Note that online versions of texts may not match republished print editions.
The follow gives free access to eBooks:
- Google Books
Full text of books and that Google has stored in its digital database.
- Hathi Trust
Collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
Internet Archive
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts (print, film, etc.) in digital form.
- Project Gutenberg
A source of free, downloadable ebooks.
A good resource to find classic literature