HIST 1160 World Civilization Since 1600 - Dr. Ritzema: Articles
Introduction to finding articles
Use the links below to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, and sources from magazines and newspapers. You'll need a COD Library card to access many of these sources from off campus. You can get a library card online.
JSTOR provides electronic access to major journal titles, eBooks, and images. Subjects covered by this database include art, biology, business, ecology, botany, general science, language, literature, mathematics, sustainability, security, music, and more. JSTOR is a great resource for general research. A personal account can be created to store and organize resources.
Academic Search Complete provides both popular and scholarly journal coverage and video clips for nearly all academic areas of study including: social sciences, humanities, education, technology, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies. Academic Search Complete is a great starting point for most general research.
MAS Ultra is a research database of popular magazines, reference books, and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science, and health. MAS Ultra also includes photos, maps, and flags.
Original Sources by Britannica contains classic, primary source, and general reference materials covering history and historical events in our social, political, legal, and religious development in the words of the actual authors, discoverers, and thinkers.
The TimeMachine has every issue of the New York Times from 1851-2002, as originally printed. Access is available through your New York Times Digital Edition account. Use your COD email to create an account or log in with your existing account information.
For further information, visit https://library.cod.edu/nyt/home.
Issues & Controversies provides accurate, accessible, and authoritative information about current issues, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This is an excellent database to explore pros/cons and multiple sides of an issue and is great for research papers and debate preparation.