Introduction
This guide is designed to help you find books, videos, articles, websites and podcasts for use in the study of Ethics. If you need additional help, please contact the Philosophy librarian, Ken Orenic, or stop by the Library Reference Desk. You can also get help from our reference services page.
The COD Library provides access to a host of resources, including print books, eBooks, and databases that are available for online use. You'll need a valid library card number that can be obtained using this online form. Student and Staff ID Cards can be activated online.
Create an I-Share account to access books from over 80 academic libraries located throughout Illinois. Books can be picked up at the COD Library Circulation Desk. You'll get an email letting you know when the book is available for pickup. (Image- "Ethics" by masondan is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)
eBooks
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACLS Humanities E-Book collection focuses on the core disciplines of the humanities - literature, linguistics, history, art history, philosophy. Pages from this collection can be printed and emailed.
- EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO eBooks Collection spans a variety of topics. Most books in this collection are in PDF format. Many titles in the EBSCO eBook Collection can be downloaded in their entirety to your computer or mobile reading device.
- Very Short Introductions
The Very Short Introductions collection began as a print series in 1995, offering brief informative introductions to a diverse range of subject areas in arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and social sciences.
Each book in this collection can be accessed by five users at a time. If the title you need is in use try again in a few minutes.
Reference Sources
Electronic Reference Databases and Books
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyA peer-reviewed encyclopedia written by Philosophy and Religious Studies scholars. Hosted by Stanford University.
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe IEP provides scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of academic philosophy. Articles are written with the intention that most of the content can be understood by undergraduates majoring in philosophy. The IEP articles are written by experts in Philosophy and Religious Studies.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to a broad selection of dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles. Includes a built-in mind map to help students brainstorm search terms. Credo is a great place to start your research.
