Call Number Ranges
Books on the broad subject of Psychology can be found in the "BF" call number area of the General Collection and the Reference Collection, while books on the broad subject of Psychiatry can be found in the "RC" call number area of the General Collection and the Reference Collection
Books for College Students can be found here.
Books for Faculty and Parents can be found here.
Search the Library Catalog by clicking here to find books and videos available at the COD Library.
Help Using the Library Catalog
Many books on the Psychological aspects of various topics will be found under other call numbers. Use the Library Catalog to search for these books by keyword.
One sample search might be something like: mental AND student*
The asterisks at the end of the word are truncation features, and allow you to pick up variations of the word:
student or students or student-centered or student-focused without having to type out separately all the variations of a word.
E-book databases and Online Video databases
Items on Course Reserve at the downstairs Library Circulation Desk
NEARBY PUBLIC AND ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
Outline of the Library of Congress Classification System (what COD uses to arrange its books on the shelves).
Want to know where specific collections are located? Check out the maps of the Library's upper and lower floors.
Books for College Students
Some of these books will be in print format, while others can be read online.
America's Mental Health Crisis
College of the Overwhelmed: The Campus Mental Health Crisis and What to Do about It
College on the Autism Spectrum: A Parent's Guide to Students' Mental Health and Wellbeing
Experiences of Hunger and Food Insecurity in College
Hazing: Destroying Young Lives
The Lonely Century: How to Restore Human Connection in a World that's Pulling Apart
Managing Anxiety with Mindfulness for Dummies
Managing Depression with Mindfulness for Dummies
Mental Health Care in the College Community
Mental Health Issues and the University Student
On Course: Strategies for Creating Success in College, Career, and Life
The Stressed Years of Their Lives: Helping Your Kid Survive during Their College Years
A Teen's Guide to Getting Stuff Done
Under Pressure and Overwhelmed: Coping with Anxiety in College
What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen
Selected New Books
Emotion in the Digital Age
Emotion in the Digital Age examines how emotion is understood, researched and experienced in relation to practices of digitisation and datafication said to constitute a digital age. The overarching concern of the book is with how emotion operates in, through, and with digital technologies. The digital landscape is vast, and as such, the authors focus on four key areas of digital practice: artificial intelligence, social media, mental health, and surveillance. Interrogating each area shows how emotion is commodified, symbolised, shared and experienced, and as such operates in multiple dimensions. This includes tracing the emotional impact of early mass media (e.g. cinema) through to efforts to programme AI agents with skills in emotional communication (e.g. mental health chatbots). This timely study offers theoretical, empirical and practical insight regarding the ways that digitisation is changing knowledge and experience of emotion and affective life. Crucially, this involves both the multiple versions of digital technologies designed to engage with emotion (e.g. emotional-AI) through to the broader emotional impact of living in digitally saturated environments. The authors argue that this constitutes a psycho-social way of being in which digital technologies and emotion operate as key dimensions of the ways we simultaneously relate to ourselves as individual subjects and to others as part of collectives.
Nerve
Frozen in terror during a mountain descent, award-winning journalist Eva Holland reaches her breaking point. Since childhood, she's been gripped by two debilitating phobias: fear of losing her mother, and fear of heights. The worst has already happened: Eva's mother died suddenly and unexpectedly in 2015. But now--after an arduous, embarrassing, and tearful finale to her ice-climbing expedition--Eva decides, enough. Fear may define her past, but she won't let it dictate her future. Thus begins Holland's quest to renegotiate her inhibiting relationship with fear. In stirring, raw prose, she reveals what it's like to live in the clutches of paralyzing dread. And with remarkable courage, she tests the limits of what one can do to live less fearfully--from engaging in daring adventure to cutting-edge research: She confronts her acrophobia by jumping out of an airplane, explores the lives of rare individuals who feel little or no fear, and meets with scientists working to eliminate phobias with a single pill. Of course, one doesn't have to go out of the way to face fear; by horrible coincidence, a series of freak accidents leaves Holland deeply shaken. Determined to stay the course, she seeks out a surprisingly effective treatment involving eye movement--to reckon with lingering trauma and anxiety to rid herself of intrusive memories and panics while driving. Ultimately, Holland's odyssey sheds light on universal questions: How do we feel fear, and why? Is fear necessary? Is it rooted in the body or the mind?
Internet Addiction
The internet has transformed the world we live in, but it also poses new risks to our psychological well-being. This book provides an introduction to the issue of internet addiction, an increasingly common problem. All day, every day, we are connected to the internet, putting most people at some level of risk for internet addiction. Problematic internet use can take many forms, including overuse of social media and addictions to online shopping, gaming, or pornography. Such behaviors can cause anxiety, depression, sleep deprivation, loneliness, and physical health problems. People can lose their jobs and families, and in a few extreme cases, internet addiction has directly led to the death of the addicted individual or a child in their care. Internet Addiction is the latest volume in Greenwood's Health and Medical Issues Today series. Part I explores what internet addiction is, the many forms it can take, and the serious consequences it can have. Part II examines a number of controversies and issues, such as balancing the internet's benefits against its addictive nature. Part III provides a variety of useful materials, including case studies, a timeline of critical events, and a directory of resources. Explores why the internet and other emerging technologies are so addictive, profiling the many forms problematic internet use can take and discussing who is most at risk Examines key issues and controversies related to problematic internet use, such as whether or not it should be labeled an addiction and who bears primary responsibility for preventing and combating its negative effects Offers illuminating case studies that use engaging real-world scenarios to highlight how internet addiction can arise, the effects it can have, and how it can be addressed
Books for Parents and Educators
Some of these books will be in Print, while others may be available in Electronic format.
CBT Strategies for Kids and Adolescents: Support Students with ADHD and Anxiety (video)
Coaching College Students with Executive Function Problems
The College and University Counseling Manual: Integrating Essential Services Across the Campus
Delivering Effective College Mental Health Services
Distracted: Why Students Can't Focus and What You Can Do About It
Mental Health Care in the Community College
