Introduction
This guide will list some of the resources available at the COD Library that you can use to find information when doing research on Sociology or cultural issues and topics.
A list of various topics can be found below.
Over on the right are some other research tools that you can use to find information.
Be sure to ask for help at the Reference desks if you have questions or problems.
List of topic Areas
By Decades : Victorian Era 1900s 1910s 1920s 1930s 1940s 1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s 2000s
Class and Social Stratification
Culture Information for Other Countries
Folklore, Legends, Mythology, Superstitions
Holidays, Festivals, Celebrations
Social Literacy / Social Intelligence
Social Problems and Culture Wars
Background Readings
Victorian Era
A Dictionary of British and Irish History
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era. Reference DA 550 .E 527 2004
The Encyclopedia of the Victorian World: A Reader's Companion to the People, Places, Events, and Everyday Life of the Victorian Era. Reference
DA 550 .E 53 1996
Key Concepts in Victorian Studies. Reference PR 461 .H 94 2023
The London Encyclopedia. Reference DA 679 .L 78 1986
The Oxford Companion to British History. Reference DA 34 .O 93 2015
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia. Reference DA 550 .V 53 1988
The Writer's Guide to Everyday Life in Regency and Victorian England, from 1811 - 1901. General DA 533 .H 93 1998
1900s
All - American Ads: 1900 - 1919. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 5 2005
Almanacs of American Life: Victorian America, 1876 - 1913. Reference E 169.1 .A 5 1876 - 1913
American Cinema, 1890 - 1909: Themes and Variations
American Decades: 1900 - 1909. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 1994 vol. 1
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1900 - 1909. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.1
America's Decades: The 1900s. General E 169.1 .A 1124 2000
Defining Documents in American History: The 1900s
The Gilded Age: Eyewitness History. General E 661 .C 575 2006
Handbook of Life in America: The Age of Reform
The Progressive Era: Eyewitness History. General E 661 .J 395 2005
This Fabulous Century: 1900 - 1910. General E 161 .T 55 vol.1
1910s
All - American Ads: 1900 - 1919. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 5 2005
Almanacs of American Life: Modern America, 1914 to 1945. Reference E 169.1 .A 5 1914 - 1945
American Decades: 1910 - 1919. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 1994 vol. 2
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1910 - 1919. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.2
America's Decades: The 1910s. General E 169.1 .A 1125 2000
Defining Documents in American History: The 1910s
This Fabulous Century: 1910 - 1920. General E 161 .T 55 vol.2
1920s
All - American Ads: '20s. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 52 3004
Almanacs of American Life: Modern America, 1914 to 1945. Reference E 169.1 .A 5 1914 - 1945
American Cinema of the 1920s: Themes and Variations
American Decades: 1920 - 1929. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.3
Day by Day: The Twenties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1920/1929
Flappers: A Guide to an American Subculture. General HQ 1420 .S 24 2010
Handbook of Life in America: The Roaring Twenties
Historical Dictionary: From the Great War to the Great Depression
Historical Dictionary of U.S. History and Politics, from the Great War to the Great Depression
Idols of Modernity: Movie Stars of the 1920s
The Roaring Twenties: Eyewitness History. General E 784 .S 76 2007
This Fabulous Century: 1920 - 1930. General E 161 .T 55 vol.3
The Twenties in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 784 .T 84 2012
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1920 - 1929. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.3
Daily Life in the United States, 1920 - 1939: Decades of Promise and Pain
1930s
All - American Ads: '30s. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 53 2003
Almanacs of American Life: Modern America, 1914 to 1945. Reference E 169.1 .A 5 1914 - 1945
American Cinema of the 1930s: Themes and Variations
American Decades: 1930 - 1939. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.4
American Popular Culture through History: The 1930s. General E 169 .1.Y 59 2002
America's Decades: The 1930s. General E 169.1 .A 1129 2000
Day by Day: The Thirties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1930/1939
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression and the New Deal. Reference E 806 .C 543 2001
The FDR Years: A Biographical Dictionary
Glamour in a Golden Age: Movie Stars of the 1930s
Handbook to Life in America: The Great Depression and World War II
Historical Dictionary: From the Great War to the Great Depression
Historical Dictionary of the Great Depression. Reference E 801 .H 57 2001
The Great Depression: Eyewitness History. General E 806 .B 9 22005
The Thirties in America (an encyclopedia)
This Fabulous Century: 1930 - 1940. General E 161 .T 55 vol.4
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1930 - 1939. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.4
Daily Life in the United States, 1920 - 1939: Decades of Promise and Pain
Defining Documents in American History: The 1930s
1940s
All - American Ads: '40s. General NC 993.5 .A 1 A 54 2001
Almanacs of American Life: Modern America, 1914 to 1945. Reference E 169.1 .A 5 1914 - 1945
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1940 - 1949. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.5
America's Decades: The 1940s. General E 169.1 .A 1135 2000
Daily Life in the United States, 1940 - 1959. General E 169 .K 139 2000
Daily Life of Women in Postwar America
Day by Day: The Forties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1940/1949
Defining Documents in American History: The Postwar 1940s (1945 - 1950)
This Fabulous Century: 1940 - 1950.. General E 161 .T 55 vol.4
The FDR Years: A Biographical Dictionary
The Forties in America (an encyclopedia)
Handbook to Life in America: The Great Depression and World War II
The Truman Years: A Biographical Dictionary
This is Who We Were: A Companion to the 1940 Census. Reference HA 215 .D 475 2012
1950s
All - American Ads: '50s. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 55 2002
Almanacs of American Life: The Cold War, 1945 - 1990. General E 741 .G 75 2003
American Decades: 1950 - 1959. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.6
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1950 - 1959. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.6
American Popular Culture through History: The 1950s. General E 169.12 .Y 69 2004
America's Decades: The 1950s. General E 169.12 .A 165 2000
Beatniks: A Guide to an American Subculture. General PS 228 .B 6 B 57 2010
The Cold War: A History in Documents and Eyewitness Accounts. General D 839.3 .C 65 2004
Daily Life in the United States, 1940 - 1959. General E 169 .K 139 2000
Daily Life of Women in Postwar America
Day by Day: The Fifties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1950/1959
Defining Documents in American History: The 1950s. General E 813 .N 56 2016
The Eisenhower Years: A Biographical Dictionary
Encyclopedia of Beat Literature
The Fifties in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 169.12 .F 498 2005
Handbook to Life in America: Postwar America
Historical Dictionary of the 1950s. Reference E 169.12 .O 44 2000
Larger than Life: Movie Stars of the 1950s
The 1950s: Eyewitness History. General E 169.12 .S 385 2003
This Fabulous Century: 1950 - 1960. General E 161 .T 55 vol.6
Welcome to Mars: Politics, Pop Culture, and Weird Science in the 1950s. General Q 175.5 .H 635 2014
1960s
The ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960s Counterculture in America. Reference E 169.02 .H 3515 2997
All - American Ads: '60s. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 56 2002
Almanacs of American Life: The Cold War, 1945 - 1990. General E 741 .G 75 2003
American Decades: 1960 - 1969. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.7
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1960 - 1969. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.7
American Popular Culture through History: The 1960s. General E 169.12 .R 53 2003
America's Decades: The 1960s. General E 169.12 .A 167 2000
Daily Life in the United States, 1960 - 1990.. General E 169.02 .M 3547 1997
Daily Life in the 1960s Counterculture. General HN 59 .W 5253 2019
Day by Day: The Sixties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1960/1969
Defining Documents in American History: The 1960s
Encyclopedia of the Kennedys. Reference E 841 .S 527 2012
The Hippie Dictionary: A Cultural Encyclopedia (and Phraseicon) of the 1960s and 1970s. Reference HQ 799.7 .M 28 2004
Hippies: A Guide to an American Subculture. General HQ 799.5 .I 77 2009
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s. Reference E 841 .H 58 1999
The Johnson Years: A Biographical Dictionary
The Kennedy Years: A Biographical Dictionary
The 1960s Cultural Revolution: A Reference Guide. General E 841 .M 37 2000
The 1960s: Eyewitness History. General E 841 .M 225 2003
The Sixties in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 169.12 .S 5 1999
The 60s: Story of a Decade. General E 169.12 .A 188 2016
This Fabulous Century: 1960 - 1970. General E 161 .T 55 vol.7
What was the British Invasion?
Reference Materials
The Beatles Encyclopedia: Everything Fab Four. Reference ML 421 .B 4 W 65 2014
Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture
Historical Dictionary of British Cinema
The James Bond Movie Encyclopedia
The London Encyclopedia. Reference DA 679 .L 78 1986
Mods, Rockers, and the Music of the British Invasion. General ML 3534.6 .G 7 P 47 2009
Mods: The New Religion: The Style and Music of the 1960s Mods. General HM 646 .A 43 2013
The Oxford Companion to British History. Reference DA 34 .O 93 2015
The Oxford Guide to British and American Culture. Reference DA 110 .O 94 1999
1970s
All - American Ads: '70s. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 57 2004
Almanacs of American Life: The Cold War, 1945 - 1990. General E 741 .G 75 2003
American Cinema of the 1970s: Themes and Variations
American Decades: 1970 - 1979. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.8
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1970 - 1979. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.8
American Popular Culture through History: The 1970s. General E 169 .Z 8 S 24 2007
America's Decades: The 1970s. General E 169.12 .A 17 2000
A Cultural Dictionary of Punk. Reference ML 3918.R 63 R 66 2009
Daily Life in the United States, 1960 - 1990.. General E 169.02 .M 3547 1997
Day by Day: The Seventies. Reference D 427 .D 3 1970/1979
Defining Documents in American History: The 1970s
The Hippie Dictionary: A Cultural Encyclopedia (and Phraseicon) of the 1960s and 1970s. Reference HQ 799.7 .M 28 2004
Historical Dictionary of the 1970's. Reference E 839 .H 57 1999
Historical Dictionary of the Nixon - Ford Era. Reference E 855 .H 355 2008
Hollywood Reborn: Movie Stars of the 1970s
The 1970s: Eyewitness History. General E 855 .H 365 2006
The Nixon - Ford Years: A Biographical Dictionary
The Seventies in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 169.12 .S 447 2006
1980s
The 1980s (from Wikipedia)Acting for America: Movie Stars of the 1980s
All - American Ads: '80s. General NC 998.5 .A 1 A 58 2005
Almanacs of American Life: The Cold War, 1945 - 1990. General E 741 .G 75 2003
American Cinema of the 1980s: Themes and Variations
American Decades: 1980 - 1989. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.9
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1980 - 1989. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.9
American Popular Culture through History: The 1980s. General E 169 .Z 82 B 39 2007
America's Decades: The 1980s. General E 169.12 .A 175 2000
Daily Life in the United States, 1960 - 1990.. General E 169.02 .M 3547 1997
Day by Day: The Eighties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1980/1989
The Eighties in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 876 .E 347 2008
The George H.W. Bush Years: A Biographical Dictionary
The 1980s: Eyewitness History. General E 876 .W 666 2006
The Reagan Years: A Biographical Dictionary
1990s
American Cinema of the 1990s: Themes and Variations
American Decades: 1990 - 1999. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 vol.10
American Decades, Primary Sources: 1990 - 1999. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.10
American Popular Culture through History: The 1990s. General E 169.12 .O 96 2003
America's Decades: The 1990s. General E 169.12 .A 176 2000
The Clinton Years: A Biographical Dictionary
Day by Day: The Nineties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1990/1999
The George H.W. Bush Years: A Biographical Dictionary
Pretty People: Movie Stars of the 1990s
The 1990s: Eyewitness History. General E 885 .S 38 2006
The Nineties in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 839 .N 56 2009
2000s
American Decades: 2000 - 2009. Reference E 169.12 .A 419 1019
American Decades, Primary Sources: 2000 - 2009. General E 169.1 .A 471977 2004 vol.11
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Great Recession, 2007 - 2012
Great Events from History: The 21st Century (2000 - 2016)
Great Lives from History: The 21st Century
Historical Dictionary of the Barack Obama Administration
Historical Dictionary of the George W. Bush Era. Reference E 902 .C 6585 2010
September 11 in Popular Culture: A Guide
The 2000s in America (an encyclopedia)
The 2010s in America (an encyclopedia). Reference E 907 .R 534 2021
Route 66
General Call Number for Books: HE 356 .U 55
Route 66 Fact Sheet, from the U.S. department of Transportation
The Illustrated Route 66 Historical Atlas. Reference HE 356 .U 55 H 558 2014
Route 66 Encyclopedia. Reference HE 356 .U 55 H 56 2012
Route 66: The Mother Road Travel Atlas. Reference HE 356. U 55 I 8 2011
