You do need to log in to use these databases, using the same credentials that you use to log into your MyAccess account or email.
You can find databases listed on the subject / topic Research Guides. You can also use the various subject lists of databases.
You can ask for assistance with databases at the upper or lower Reference desks. Other ways to contact us can be found here.
The databases listed below are the ones that might be most useful for students learning at home.
Click here for Career Databases
Click here for Newspaper Databases
Click here for Online Video Databases
Click here for Databases that District Residents (non-COD residents) can access from home
General Periodical Databases - Flipster has many popular magazines, as does the Overdrive database. You can use the various limiters for the Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Central databases to refine your search to exclude high-level academic resources that might not be appropriate for you or a topic.
Be sure to check your local public library for other available databases.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides both popular and scholarly journal coverage and video clips for nearly all academic areas of study including: social sciences, humanities, education, technology, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies. Academic Search Complete is a great starting point for most general research.
- Flipster
Flipster is a digital magazine platform featuring popular and educational titles on a variety of subjects and interests. Printing and access to an assortment of back issues is possible. Available on desktop and mobile.
Sign in with your COD email to access this resource through the mobile app. - Mango Languages
Mango is an adaptive learning language interface featuring more than 70 languages. Mango offers critical thinking and memory-building exercises, grammar and culture notes, and conversation-based methodology to help build language and communication skills. Available in browser or mobile app. Create an account with your COD email or continue as a guest (on-campus only). District Residents do not have access to all languages off-campus.
- OverDrive
OverDrive is a growing collection of popular eBooks, eAudio and magazines available for download. Users may checkout materials for up to three weeks and place holds on eBooks and eAudio currently in use. Available in browser and on the Libby app.
COD Students, Faculty, and Staff sign in with their school email. District Residents sign in with their library card number and pin.
Learn about The Libby App by OverDrive here.
Other Databases
- Biblioboard: Pop-up Picks
Pop-up Picks is a collection of popular eBooks that are freely available to residents of Illinois. Provided by RAILS (Reaching Across Illinois Library System).
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher contains in-depth articles on selected current and controversial issues. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology. This database is great for speech assignments, research papers, and debate preparation.
- Gale in Context: College
Gale in Context: College provides support for papers, projects, speech assignments, and presentations. Including thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines, and multimedia elements in five core subject areas: history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. This is a great place to start your research.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (on-campus only)
Historical Statistics is a reference source that is the standard for quantitative facts of American history. Users can develop reports and export data using Excel and other .csv-compatible programs. Cross-indexing, fully searchable tables, table documentation, and commentary are the key features of this resource. On-campus only.
- InfobaseBooks
InfobaseBooks contains eBook materials on a variety of general studies subjects including art, history, education, mathematics, sciences, technology, health and medicine, mythology and paranormal, current issues, and literature (classics, critcism, and reference).
- Gale Informe
Informe es una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this database provides indexing, images, and full-text of popular magazines on a variety of topics. - Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies provides accurate, accessible, and authoritative information about current issues, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This is an excellent database to explore pros/cons and multiple sides of an issue and is great for research papers and debate preparation.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center contains analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
- NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is an electronic readers' advisory resource which allows you to search for fiction and non-fiction titles written for readers of all ages. Users can search for books based on subject, genre, and different “appeal” factors. This resource is often used by public libraries and students in the LTA program but can also be used by anyone looking for a next read.
- OverDrive
OverDrive is a growing collection of popular eBooks, eAudio and magazines available for download. Users may checkout materials for up to three weeks and place holds on eBooks and eAudio currently in use. Available in browser and on the Libby app.
COD Students, Faculty, and Staff sign in with their school email. District Residents sign in with their library card number and pin.
Learn about The Libby App by OverDrive here. - Salem Press
The Salem Press database is divided into five categories: Literature, History, Science, Health & Psychology, and Careers & Business. Researchers can keyword search the whole platform, the individual categories, or just search a specific title. The main page of the database lists each category as well as all eBook titles found within the categories.
- Statista
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology, and education. Sources include market reports, opinion research institutions, trade publications, scientific journals, and government agencies. Charts can be downloaded or embedded for assignment purposes.
- Very Short Introductions
The Very Short Introductions collection began as a print series in 1995, offering brief informative introductions to a diverse range of subject areas in arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and social sciences.
Each book in this collection can be accessed by five users at a time. If the title you need is in use try again in a few minutes.