Science and Politics: Topic Areas

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

• find a topic
• narrow your topic
• find keywords
• get background information on your topic

The Columbia Guide to Hiroshima and the Bomb. General D 767.25 .H 6 K 68 2007
Cultural Atlas of Japan. Reference DS 821 .C 62 1988
Historical Dictionary of Atomic Espionage. General UB 270 .T 74 2011
Historical Dictionary of Japan to 1945. Reference DS 833 .H 46 2014
Historical Dictionary of World War II Intelligence.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. Reference DS 805 .K 633 1983

The Manhattan Project and the Dropping of the Atomic Bomb:  The Essential Reference Guide
Military Atlas of Air Warfare. Reference UG 630 .D 584 2014b
Month by Month Atlas of World War II. General G 1038 .P 6 1989
The Pacific War Atlas. General D 767 .S 6 1995
Pacific War Encyclopedia. Reference D 767.9 .D 86 1998

General Book Call Number area: D 767.25
List of COD Library books on the atomic bombings
List of COD Library books on the Manhattan Project
List of COD Library books on President Harry Truman
List of COD Library videos on the atomic bombings

The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources.  National Security Archive.
The Atomic Bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Report of the Manhattan Engineering District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 1945.
The Atomic Papers : A Citizen's Guide to Selected Books and Articles on the Bomb, the Arms Race, Nuclear Power, the Peace Movement, and Related Issues. General JX 1974.7 .B 85 1984x
Documents from the George C. Marshall Foundation Collection
Documents from the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library
The Effects of Atomic Weapons. General  UF 767 .U 594 1950
Japan's Struggle  to End the War.   U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey, 1946.
Manhattan: The Army and the Atomic Bomb. U.S. Army official history book. General QC 773.3 .U 5 J 65 1985,
Harry S. Truman and the Bomb: A Documentary History. General E 813 .H 3 1996

The Atomic Archive
Atomic Bomb Disease Institute at Nagasaki University
Atomic Heritage Foundation
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum
Los Alamos Historical Society
The Manhattan Project. U.S. National Park Service.
The Manhattan Project: An Interactive History. U.S. Department of Energy
The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History.
Nuclear chain reaction at the University of Chicago
Trinity Atomic Web Site

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

• find a topic
• narrow your topic
• find keywords
• get background information on your topic

  ---

The Atlas of a Changing Climate.   Reference  QC  903 .B 858 2021

The Atlas of Climate Change: Mapping the World's Greatest Challenge.
Atlas of Mortality and Economic Losses from Weather, Climate, and Water Extremes (1970-2012). Reference QC 981.8 .C 53 G 65 2014
Climate Atlas of Illinois. Reference QC 984 .I 5 C 5 2004
Climate Change : An Encyclopedia of Science and History.
Climate Change Politics and Policies in America : Historical and Modern Documents in Context
Climate Change: Examining the Facts
Encyclopedia of Climate Change.
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politics Reference GE 170 .E 53 2017
Encyclopedia of Global Warming. Reference QC 981.8 .G 56 E 46 2010
Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change. General General QC 854 .E 5258 2010

International Encyclopedia of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Science and Technology:  Series B - Ecology, Environment, Geosciences
Multimedia Atlas of Global Warming and Climatology
The Thinking Person's Guide to Climate Change. General QC903.H4835 2019

Climate Change Controversies
Climategate
Pseudoscience
Skepticism
At Issue: Adaptation and Climate Change. General QC 902.9 .A 33 2013
At Issue: Can Glacier and Ice Melt be Reversed? General QC 903.2 .A 68 C 36 2014
Boiling Point : How Politicians, Big Oil and Coal, Journalists, and Activists are Fueling the Climate Crisis--and what We can do to Avert Disaster. General QC 981.8 .G 56 G 44 2004
The Climate War : True Believers, Power Brokers, and the Fight to Save the Earth. General QC 903 .P 766 2010
Climatology versus Pseudoscience : Exposing the Failed Predictions of Global Warming Skeptics. General QC 981.8 .G 56 N 93 2015
Current Controversies: Global Warming. General QC 981.8 .G 56 G 57445 2013
Denying Science : Conspiracy Theories, Media Distortions, and the War against Reality. General Q 175.5 .G 734 2011
Don't Even Think About It : Why Our Brains are Wired to Ignore Climate Change. General QC 903 .M 368 2014
The Madhouse Effect : How Climate Change Denial is Threatening Our Planet, Destroying Our Politics, and Driving Us Crazy. General QC 903 .M 3625 2016
Merchants of Doubt : How a Handful of Scientists Obscured the Truth on Issues from Tobacco Smoke to Global Warming. General Q 147 .O 74 2010
Opposing Viewpoints: Endangered Oceans. General QH 541.5 .S 3 E 535 2014
Opposing Viewpoints: The Environment. General GE 140 .E 5333 2014
The Politically Incorrect Guide to Global Warming and Environmentalism. General QC 981.8 .G 56 H 67 2007
Skeptical Science (debunking skeptics of global warming)
Unstoppable Global warming : Every 1,500 Years. General QC 981.8 .G 56 S 553 2007

Climate Change research guide

Center for Climate and Energy Solutions

Climate Change Laws of the World

Climate Change Litigation Databases

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

U.S. National Centers for Environmental Informationn (NCEI) (part of NOAA)
U.S. National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center (NCCWS)
U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
U.S. National Weather Service (NWS)
World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

• find a topic
• narrow your topic
• find keywords
• get background information on your topic

Alternative Energy and Shale Gas Encyclopedia.
Dictionary of Energy.
Dictionary of Energy Efficiency Technologies. Reference TJ 163.28 .H 67 2004
Encyclopedia of Energy. Reference TJ 163.16 .E 47 2013

Energy:  In Context (an encyclopedia)
Illinois Energy State Profile
Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook. General TJ 808.3 .S 65 2008
Renewable Energy : Physics, Engineering, Environmental Impacts, Economics & Planning.
World Energy Crisis: A Reference Handbook. General HD 9502 .A 2 N 498 2013

One College, One Book:  "The Story of More"

Illinois Power Agency (IPA)

Illinois Renewable Energy Association (IREA)
International Energy Agency (IEA)
U.S. Alternative Fuels Data Center
U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
U.S. Energy Information and Data
U.S. National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Background Readings

Big Oil
Drilling articles
Fossil Fuels
Fracking
Natural Gas
Oil Fields
Peak Oil
Pipeline articles

Books

At Issue: Should Drilling be Allowed in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge? General TN 872 .A 7 S 545 2013
Dictionary of Oil and Gas Production.
Drilling Maps
Fracking: A Reference Handbook General TD 195 .G 3 N 49 2015
Oil : A Cultural and Geographic Encyclopedia of Black Gold.
Opposing Viewpoints: Natural Gas. General TN 278 .N 38 2015

Natural Gas Mind Map - for other related topics

Petroleum Mind Map - for other related topics

Solar Energy Movement background reading
Solar Energy Resource Center
Solar Energy: A Reference Handbook General TJ 810.5 .N 49 2015

Solar Energy Mind Map - for other related topics

Encyclopedia of Dubious Archaeology:  From Atlantis to the Walam Olum.   Reference  CC 70 .F 43 2020

Encyclopedia of Moon Mysteries:  Secrets, Conspiracy Theories, Anomalies, Extraterrestrials

Encyclopedia of Parapsychology and Psychical Research.   General   BF 1025 .B 47 1991

Encyclopedia of Pseudoscience.   Reference  Q 157 .E 57 2000

The Paranormal:  A Guide to the Unexplained.   General  BF  1031 .N 67 1996

A Physicist's Guide to Skepticism.   General  Q 175 .R 5648 1988

The Skeptic's Guide to the Universe:  How to Know what's Really Real in a World Increasingly Full of Fake.  General  Q 162 .N 68 2018

Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained

Encyclopedia of Alien Encounters.   General  BF 2050 .B 35 2000

Encyclopedic Sourcebook of UFO Religions.  General  BL 65 .U 54 E 53 2003

Extraordinary Encounters:  An Encyclopedia of Extraterrestrials  and Otherworldly Beings.   Reference  BF 2050 .C 57 2000

UFOs and Popular Culture:  An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Myth.   Reference  TL 789.L485 2000

The UFO Encyclopedia:  The Phenomenon from the Beginning. 

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) - UFO Documents

The Condon Report:  Final Report of the Scientific Study of Unidentified Flying Objects.   General  TL 789 .C 664

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) - UFO documents

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA_ - UAPs

National Archives (U.K.) - UFO documents

National Archives (U.S.)  - UFO documents

National Security Agency (NSA) - UFO documents

Operation  Highjump released documents

Project Blue Book (from FBI Vault)

The Roswell Report:  Case Closed.   General  TL 789.5 .N 6 M 33 1997

Symposium on Unidentified Flying Objects (Congressional Hearing, 1968)

The UFO Dossier:  100 Years  of Government Secrets, Conspiracies, and Cover-ups.   General  TL 789.4 .R 365 2016

The UFO Enigma.  (Congressional Research  Service (CRS), 1983)

The UFO Evidence, Volume I

Unidentified Flying Objects.  (Congressional Hearing, 1966)

Center for UFO Studies

Library of Congress -UFOs list of resources

MUFON - Mutual UFO Network

Smithsonian Channel - UFOs Declassified

U.S. Air Force Declassification Office - UFOs

U.S. All - Domain Anomaly Resolution Office (AARO), U.S. Department  of Defense (DOD)

U.S. National Archives - UFOs

U.S. Naval History research guide on UFOs

Atlas of the Global Water Cycle.

The Atlas of Water:  Mapping the World's Most Critical Resource
Competition for Water Resources : Experiences and Management Approaches in the US and Europe. Circulation Desk TD 223 .C 66 2017
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States
Encyclopedia of Water Science Reference S 494.5 .W 3 E 54 2003
The Global Water Crisis: A Reference Handbook. General TD 348 .N 49 2016
How Federal Policies Affect the Allocation of Water (2006)
Key Concepts in Water Resource Management.
Seas and Waterways of the World : An Encyclopedia of History, Uses, and Issues. Reference HE 381 .S 43 2010
The Water Atlas. Reference GB 671 .C 54 2004
The Water Dictionary : A Comprehensive Reference of Water Terminology.
The Water Encyclopedia. Reference TD 345 .L 393 2005
Water Planet : The Culture, Politics, Economics, and Sustainability of Water on Earth.
Water Resource Planning and Management.
Water Rights and the Environment in the United States : A Documentary and Reference Guide.
The World's Oceans: Geography, History, and Environment.

Meteorology Research Guide
Oceanography and Hydrology Research Guide

United Nations - Water
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) - Water
U.S. Department of the Interior - Clean Water
U.S. Drought Monitor

U.S. Geological Surey (USGS)- Central Midwest Water Science Center
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) - Water
U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

World Water Map (National Geographic)

Illinois Water Supply from the University of Illinois Library

Maps
Illinois Flood Maps
Major Watersheds of Illinois

Websites
Chicago City Department of Water Management
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) - Water
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) - Watershed Plans
Cook County - Northwest Water Commission

Cook County - West Suburban Water Commission
DeKalb County Watersheds
DuPage County Government - Water Division
DuPage County Water Commission
Fox River Ecosystem Partnership
Illinois Department of Natural Resources (DNR) - Water Resources
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA)- Bureau of Water
Illinois State Geological Survey (ISGS)
Illinois State Water Survey (ISWS)
Illinois Water Resources Center (IWRC)
Kankakee County Soil and Water Conservation District
Kendall County - Groundwater
Lake County, Illinois, watersheds
Lake Michigan Water Allocation
Metropolitan Planning Council
Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago
North Cook County Soil and Water Conservation District

Northwest Municipal Conference (NWMC)- Watershed Planning Councils
Will County and South Cook County Soil and Water Conservation District