Intro
Looking for a related topic to research? Is "LGBT issues" too big a topic for your project? Use our research guides and encyclopedias to find related topic areas and places to get started.
Or, check out our Reference Materials page in this guide for background information.
Related Research guides
Demographics and Population Studies
Demography mind map for related concepts
Demographic Aspects of Population Policies
Demographics and Infectious Diseases
Demographics and the LGBTQ Population
Life Expectancy mind map for related concepts
Population and Environmental Ethics
Population and Food, reading 1
Population and Food, reading 2
Population and the Middle East
Population Policies - Demographic Aspects
Population Policies - Fertility Control
Population Policies - Migration
America's Changing Neighborhoods: An Exploration of Diversity through Places
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Encyclopedia of Population. Reference HB 871 .E 538 2003
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities. Reference GN 495.4 .E 63 2004
Life in Rural America: A Statistical Portrait
Diversity
There is a guide for Ethnic Groups just below this one.
A discussion of Racism in the United States.
Citizenship Education and Diversity
Diversity Training for Organizations
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture. Reference E169.12 .E 49 2001
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
See also the section below on Racism and Discrimination
Health, Illness, Society, and Culture
Ethnic Inequalities in Health .
Health and Medicine in U.S. History (Themes in American History)
COD Library Research Guide on Addictions and Substance Abuse
COD Library Research Guide on Aging
COD Library Research Guide on Controversial Topics
COD Library Research Guide on Human Services
COD Library Research Guide on Hunger and Food Security (Part of the Food and Culture section) {Under Construction}
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body.
Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia .
Diets and Dieting: A Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference RM 214.5 .G 55 2008
Encyclopedia of Aging . Reference HQ 1061 .E 53 2006
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience Reference HQ 1073 .E 544 2009
Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care . Reference RC 954 .E 53 2008
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. Reference QP 141 .E 526 2005
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures . Reference RA 418 .E 354 2004
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. Reference GN 502 .E 63 2006
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development. Reference HM 626 .E 538 2009
Encyclopedia of Public Health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health.
Ethnic Diseases Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information. General RA 563 .M 56 E 838
Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health. Reference RC 952.5 .G 3485 2009
Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference R 733 .L 477 1997
Health and Social Issues of Native American Women .
Health Care Systems Around the World.
Health Disparities in the United States: Social Class, Race, Ethnicity, and Health. General RA 418.3 .U 6 B 37 2008
Key Concepts in Health Psychology.
Key Concepts in Health Studies.
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia.
Minority Populations and Health: An Introduction to Health Disparities in the United States. General RA 448.4 .L 38 2005
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition, and Dietetics.
Religion: A Clinical Guide for Nurses. General RT 85.2 .R 45 2012
Sage Dictionary of Health and Society Reference RA 418 .W 439 2006
Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society. Reference RA 423 .W 554 2014
Marriage and Families
Controversial Topics Research Guide
Lifespan Development Research Guide
Social Problems and Culture Wars research guide below
Women and Gender Studies research guide below
Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA)
Divorce, Separation, Annulment, and the Law
LBGTQ Parenting Styles and Values
Mass Media and Family Life: Opinions Throughout History
Encyclopedia of Family Life. Reference HQ 534 .E 53 1999
The Family in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 536 .H 365 2001
Encyclopedia of Love in World Religions.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family.
Key Concepts in Family Studies.
Major Problems in the History of American Families and Children: Documents and Essays. General HQ 535 .M 348 2005
Marriage Customs of the World : An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions .
Marriage, Family, and Relationships : A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference GN 307 .E 64 M 3 1994
Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 755.8 .P 3783 2000
Race and Discrimination
COD Anti-Racism and Anti-Oppression Guide
COD Library African American History research guide
See also the Documents and Readers section in this box.
There is a guide for Diversity above this one.
There is a guide for Ethnic Groups just below the Diversity guide.
A discussion of Racism in the United States.
Citizenship Education and Diversity
Literary Theme: Race and Prejudice in American Literature.
Literary Theme: Religion, Race, and Prejudice
Online Games and Racism, Sexism, and Homophobia
Race and Human Genome Variation
Race/Ethnicity and Victimization
Racial Discrimination and the Law
Sociology of Ethnic and Racial Relations
Why Reference Sources?
Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper? Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?
Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases. Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run. Use reference sources to:
- find a topic
- narrow your topic
- find keywords
- get background information on your topic
Civil Rights Movement: A Reference Guide. General E 185.61 .C 6148 2019
Civil Rights Movement: An Encyclopedia
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity, and Culture.
Encyclopedia of American Race Riots. Volume 1 (A - M), Volume 2 (N - Z)
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime. Reference HV 6789 .E 43 2009
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies. Reference GN 495.6 .C 37 2004
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. Reference HT 1521 .E 63 2008.
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States.. Reference E 184 .A 1 E 773 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U.S. Military: An Encyclopedia.
Ethnic and Racial Relations in America. Reference E 49 .R 33 2017
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity. Reference GN 495.6 .M 445 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race and Race in American History. General E 184 .A 1 O 95 2018
Race and Racism: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic.
Race and Sports: A Reference Handbook. General GV 706.32 .M 96 2021
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America: An Encyclopedia
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History : An Encyclopedia.
A State - by - State History of Race and Racism in the United States
This section has sub-sections for Background Readings, Reference Materials, and Websites, in that order.
There is a guide for Criminal Justice / Justice Studies, click here to go to it.
There is a guide for Social and Restorative Justice, click here to go to it.
There is a guide for African American / Black history and culture, click here to go to it.
Background Readings
African American Criminal Injustice
Are there Other Racial or Ethnic Groups Who Experience Disproportionate Incarceration?
Race, Ethnicity and Punishment
What Causes the Disproportionate Imprisonment of African Americans?
What Should be Done to Address Racial Disparities in Incarceration?
Reference Materials
Crime and Punishment in America : An Encyclopedia of Trends and Controversies in the Justice System.
Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook. General HV 6773.52 .A 47 2015
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Crime, Media and Popular Culture
Palgrave Dictionary of Public Order Policing, Protest and Political Violence Reference HV 8055 .J 69 2014
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia.
See also the larger and broader collection of Criminal Justice reference books by clicking here.
Websites
List of COD Library books on this topic.
List of COD Library videos on this topic.
A Collection of articles on the issue of Black Lives Matter
Black Freedom Struggle in the Untied States: Open Access Documents on the Pursuit of Equality
Black Thought and Culture database, which contains many older documents, articles and books.
Black Immigrants in North America: Essays on Race, Immigration, Identity, Language, Hip-Hop, Pedagogy, and the Politics of Becoming Black. General F 1035 .N 3 I 268 2020
Civil Rights Movement: A Documentary Reader
The Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America
Documents of American Prejudice: An Anthology of Writings from Thomas Jefferson to David Duke. General E 184 .A 1 D 65 1999
Hate Crimes (The Reference Shelf)
The Inequality Reader: Contemporary and Foundational Readings in Race, Class, and Gender
Race, Crime, and Justice: A Reader. General HV 6197 .U 5 R 334 2005
Racism: A Global Reader. General HT 1521 .R 323 2003
Seeking the Beloved Community: A Feminist Race Reader.
Theories of Race and Racism: A Reader
Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America: A Resource Guide
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism
Ku Klux Klan background reading
Reverse Discrimination discussion
White Privilege background reading
White Supremacy background reading
Anger and Racial Politics : The Emotional Foundation of Racial Attitudes in America. General E 185.615 .B 2846 2014
Angry White Men : American Masculinity at the End of an Era.
Colored Property : State Policy and White Racial Politics in Suburban America.
Cyber Racism : White Supremacy Online and the New Attack on Civil Rights. General E 184 .A 1 D 244 2009
Dear White America: A Letter to the New Minority. General E 184 .A 1 W 573 2012
Encyclopedia of White Power : A Sourcebook on the Radical Racist Right. Reference HT 1523 .E 53 2000
The Ku Klux Klan: An Encyclopedia. Reference HS 2330 .K 63 N 49 1991
White over Black: American Attitudes toward the Negro, 1550-1812. General E 185 .J 69 1968
White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of our Racial Divide. General E 185.61 .A 5438 2016
White Supremacy Groups. General E 184 .A 1 .W 3963 2008
Sex
[You can also find information on this topic in the Anthropology, Body Language, Psychology, and Women and Gender library research guides.]
Biological Bases of Sex Differences
Pornography, Health Consequences of
Pornography, Legal and Political Aspects
Racial/Biological Basis of Sexuality
Sex in Established Relationships
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. Reference GN 281 .C 345 1992
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality. General HQ 21 .I 68 2004
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Penis.
A Descriptive Dictionary and Atlas of Sexology. Reference HQ 9 .D 34 1991
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance. Reference BR 697.5 .B 63 E 55 2012
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History. Reference TT 957 .S 46 2006
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work. Reference HQ 115 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Sex. General HQ 9 .E 54 2000
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality: Understanding Biology, Psychology, and Culture
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior. General HQ 9 .E 4 1973
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law. Reference KF 9325 .A 68 M 33 2006
Faces around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia of the Human Face.
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.13 .G 37 2000
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship and Sexuality throughout History. Reference HQ 21 .G 67125 2008
Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia. General HQ 9 .H 846 1994
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities. Reference HQ 1090 .I 58 2007
Key Concepts in Body and Society.
Sex and Sexuality: A Thematic Dictionary of Quotations. Reference HQ 21 .S 47158 1993
Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 12 .S 423 2006
Social Media
At Issue: Are Social Networking Sites Harmful? General HM 742 .A 742 2015
Debates for the Digital Age: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of our Online World. General HM 851 .D 4325 2016
Related library research guides:
Current Controversies: Social Media. General HM 1206 .G 563 2012
Debates for the Digital Age: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of our Online World. General HM 851 .D 4325 2016
Encyclopedia of Gender in the Media
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media. Reference P 96 .A 44 E 53 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining. Reference QA 76.9 .D 343 E 538 2014
Encyclopedia of Social Networks
The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media
Online Around the World : A Geographic Encyclopedia of the Internet, Social Media, and Mobile Apps.
Opinions throughout History: Social Media
The SAGE Handbook of Social Network Analysis.
Tweeting to Freedom: An Encyclopedia of Citizen Protests and Uprisings Around the World. General HM 741 .W 55 2017
Social Problems and Culture Wars
Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
Culture Wars in America : An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
The Destructive Power of Religion: Violence in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, essays. Reference BL 65 .V 55 D 47 2004
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. Reference BL 65 .P7 E 53 2007
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice.
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States.
Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence.
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media. Reference P 96 .A 44 E 53 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Problems. Reference HN 28 .E55 2008
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide .
Inequality in America: Causes and Consequences
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Race and Racism: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic.
Religion and Violence: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present.
Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia. Reference HN 57 .S 624 2006
