Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates: the COD Library building is closed until further notice.

Sociology: Home

Introduction

This guide will list some of the resources available at the COD Library that you can use to find information when doing research on Sociology or cultural issues and topics.

COD Sociology Academic Program

A list of various topics can be found below.

Over on the right are some other research tools that you can use to find information.

Be sure to ask for help at the Reference desks if you have questions or problems.

Class and Social Stratification

Demographics and Population Studies

Diversity

Ethnic Groups

Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States  Reference E 184 .S 75 O 97 2005
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement  Reference E184 .M 5 M 458 2000
Latino Issues: A Reference Handbook  Reference E 184 .S 75 S 23 2011

Latino America:  A State - by - State Encyclopedia   Reference  E 184 .S 75 L 35555 2008
Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia
Latinos and Latinas at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice

What is Islamophobia?
Arab Americans and Racism reading

 

American Muslim Women : Negotiating Race, Class, and Gender within the Ummah. General E 184 .M 88 K 37 2009
Acts of Faith : the Story of an American Muslim, the Struggle for the Soul of a Generation. General E 184 .M 88 P 38 2007
American Muslim Women, Religious Authority, and Activism : More than a Prayer. General BP 173.4 .H 3654 2012
Arab and Muslim Civil Rights Issues in the Chicago Metropolitan Area Post-September 11. General F 548.9 .A 65 U 55 2003
Becoming Muslim : Western Women's Conversions to Islam. General BP 170.5 .A 1 M 36 2006
Being a Muslim in the World. General BP 163 .D 298 2013
Blaming Islam. General BP 67 .U 6 B 69 2012
Current Controversies: Islamophobia. General BP 52 .I 853 2013
Detained without Cause : Muslims' Stories of Detention and Deportation in America after 9/11. General E 184 .M 88 S 55 2011
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History. 
The Face behind the Veil : The Extraordinary Lives of Muslim Women in America. General HQ 1170 .G 43 2006
Fueling our Fears : Stereotyping, Media Coverage, and Public Opinion of Muslim Americans. General E 184 .M 88 N 33 2007
A History of Islam in America : From the New World to the New World Order. General BP 67 .U 6 G 43 2010
Homeland Insecurity : The Arab American and Muslim American Experience after 9/11. General E 184 .A 65 C 35 2009
I Speak for Myself : American Women on being Muslim. General BP 67 .A 1 I 2 2011
Islamophobia in America : The Anatomy of Intolerance. General E 184 .M 88 I 65 2013
Islamophobia: Making Muslims the Enemy. General E 184 .M 88 G 68 2008
Islamophobia : The Challenge of Pluralism in the 21st Century. General BP 52 .I 854 2011
Living Islam Out Loud : American Muslim Women Speak. General BP 67.A 1 L 58 2005
Moving the Mountain : Beyond Ground Zero to a New Vision of Islam in America. General BP 67 .U 6 A 238 2012
Muslim American Women on Campus : Undergraduate Social Life and Identity
Muslim American Youth : Understanding Hyphenated Identities through Multiple Methods. General E 184 .M 88 S 57 2008
The Muslim Next Door : The Qurʼan, the Media, and that Veil Thing. General BP 161.3 .A 374 2008
Muslim Women in America : The Challenge of Islamic Identity Today. General E 184 .M 88 H 34 2006
Muslims in the Western Imagination. General BP 52 .S 43 2015
The Oxford Handbook of American Islam. General BP 67 .U 6 O 94 201
Scapegoating Islam : Intolerance, Security, and the American Muslim. General E 184 .M 88 T 46 2015
Shi'ism in America. General BP 192.7 .U 6 T 35 2011
Silent Victims : The Plight of Arab & Muslim Americans in Post 9/11 America. General E 184 .A 65 E 37 2004
The Uncultured Wars : Arabs, Muslims, and the Poverty of Liberal Thought.

Veils
Veiling reading no.1
Veiling reading no.2
The Islamic Veil: A Beginner's Guide. General BP 190.5 .H 44 B 83 2012
Politics of the Veil.
A Quiet Revolution : The Veil's Resurgence, from the Middle East to America. General BP 190.5 .H 44 A 46 2011
Visibly Muslim: Passion, Politics, and Faith. General BP 190.5 .C 6 T 37 2010
What is Veiling? General BP 190.5 .H 44 A 535 2014

Videos
Born in the USA: Muslim Americans. General BP 67 .U 6 B 67 2003
Covered Girls.
How to be Muslim in America.
Muslim Life in America after 9/11. General E 184 .M 88 A 223 2006
Under One Sky: Arab Women in North America talk about the Hijab. General HQ 1784 .U 644 2000
Understanding Islam and the American Muslim Community : A Visit to a Mosque in America. General BP 67 .U 62 O 3 2002
Wearing Hijab: Uncovering the Myths of Islam in the United States. General BP 67.U6 W42 2003
Whose Children are These?
Young, American, and Muslim ("60 Minutes").

Food and Culture (under construction)

Globalization

Health, Illness, Society, and Culture

Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body. 
Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia .
Diets and Dieting: A Cultural Encyclopedia.   Reference RM 214.5 .G 55 2008
Encyclopedia of Aging . Reference HQ 1061 .E 53 2006
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience   Reference HQ 1073 .E 544 2009
Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care . Reference RC 954 .E 53 2008
Encyclopedia of Family Health 
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. Reference QP 141 .E 526 2005
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures . Reference RA 418 .E 354 2004
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology.   Reference GN 502 .E 63 2006
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development.  Reference HM 626 .E 538 2009
Encyclopedia of Public Health. 
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Ethnic Diseases Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information. General RA 563 .M 56 E 838
Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health.   Reference RC 952.5 .G 3485 2009
Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia.   Reference R 733 .L 477 1997
Health and Social Issues of Native American Women 
Health Care Systems Around the World. 
Health Disparities in the United States: Social Class, Race, Ethnicity, and Health. 
General RA 418.3 .U 6 B 37 2008
Key Concepts in Health Psychology.
Key Concepts in Health Studies. 
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology   
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia. 
Minority Populations and Health: An Introduction to Health Disparities in the United States
General RA 448.4 .L 38 2005
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition, and Dietetics
Religion: A Clinical Guide for Nurses. 
General RT 85.2 .R 45 2012
Sage Dictionary of Health and Society    Reference RA 418 .W 439 2006
Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy. 
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society.   
Reference RA 423 .W 554 2014
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices. 
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues. 

Marriage and Families

Race and Discrimination

There is a guide for Diversity above this one.

There is a guide for  Ethnic Groups just below the Diversity guide.

There is a guide for Criminal Justice / Justice Studies, click here to go to  it.

There is a guide for Social and Restorate Justice, click here to go to it.

A Collection of articles on the issue of Black Lives Matter

A discussion of Race.
A discussion of Racism in the United States.
Antiracist Education
Citizenship Education and Diversity  {Under Construction}
Colorism
Critical Race Theory
Cultural Diversity  {Under Construction}
Discrimination  {Under Construction}
Educational Equity
Environmental Racism
Ethnicity

Ethnocentrism

Equity Theory
Free Speech and Diversity  {Under Construction}
Hate Crimes   {Under Construction}
Hate Speech

Identity
Institutional Racism  {Under Construction}
Literary Theme: Ethnicity
Literary Theme: Race and Prejudice in American Literature.
Literary Theme: Religion, Race, and Prejudice
Misogyny
Multiculturalism  {Under Construction}
Nativism

Online Games and Racism, Sexism, and Homophobia

The Other

Othering

Orientalism
Prejudice
Race and Human Genome Variation  {Under Construction}
Race/Ethnicity and Crime
Race/Ethnicity and Victimization
Racial Discrimination and the Law
Racial Identity  {Under Construction}
Racial Microagression  {Under Construction}
Racial Passing  {Under Construction}
Racial Profile
Religious Discrimination
Scientific Theories of Race
Segregation as a Literary Theme
Sexism
Social Definitions of Race  {Under Construction}

Social Exclusion

Social Inclusion
Social Justice Education
Sociology of Ethnic and Racial Relations  {Under Construction}
Stereotypes
Undergraduate Readiness for Diversity  {Under Construction}
Xenophobia  {Under Construction}

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity, and Culture. 
Encyclopedia of American Race Riots. Volume 1 (A - M), Volume 2 (N - Z)
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime. Reference HV 6789 .E 43 2009
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies. Reference GN 495.6 .C 37 2004
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. Reference HT 1521 .E 63 2008.
Encyclopedia of Racism in American Films
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States.. Reference E 184 .A 1 E 773 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U.S. Military: An Encyclopedia
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Hate Crime in America, 1968-2013 : A Chronology of Offenses, Legislation and Related Events
Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook. General HV 6773.52 .A 47 2015
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity. Reference GN 495.6 .M 445 2014
Race and Racism: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic(2014)
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History : An Encyclopedia. 
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia. 

A State - by - State History of Race and Racism in the United States

Ku Klux Klan background reading
Reverse Discrimination discussion
White Privilege background reading
White Supremacy background reading
Whiteness background reading

Anger and Racial Politics : The Emotional Foundation of Racial Attitudes in America. General E 185.615 .B 2846 2014
Angry White Men : American Masculinity at the End of an Era.
Colored Property : State Policy and White Racial Politics in Suburban America.
Cyber Racism : White Supremacy Online and the New Attack on Civil Rights. General E 184 .A 1 D 244 2009
Dear White America: A Letter to the New Minority. General E 184 .A 1 W 573 2012
Encyclopedia of White Power : A Sourcebook on the Radical Racist Right. Reference HT 1523 .E 53 2000
The Ku Klux Klan: An Encyclopedia. Reference HS 2330 .K 63 N 49 1991
White over Black: American Attitudes toward the Negro, 1550-1812. General E 185 .J 69 1968
White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of our Racial Divide. General E 185.61 .A 5438 2016
White Supremacy Groups. General E 184 .A 1 .W 3963 2008

Sex

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution.   Reference GN 281 .C 345 1992
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality.   General HQ 21 .I 68 2004
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body. 
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Breast. 
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Penis. 
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.  {Under Construction}
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History.   Reference TT 957 .S 46 2006
Encyclopedia of Sex.   General HQ 9 .E 54 2000
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior.   General HQ 9 .E 4 1973
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law.    Reference KF 9325 .A 68 M 33 2006
Faces around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia of the Human Face
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia.   Reference HQ 75.13 .G 37 2000
Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide 
The Greenwood encyclopedia of Love, Courtship and Sexuality throughout History.   Reference HQ 21 .G 67125 2008
Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia.   General HQ 9 .H 846 1994
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities.  Reference HQ 1090 .I 58 2007
Key Concepts in Body and Society. 
Lust: A Dictionary. 
Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia.   Reference HQ 12 .S 423 2006

Social Media

Social Media
Cyberbullying
Dating
Digital Divide
Facebook
Friending
Identity
Internet Addiction
Internet Trolling
Privacy
Sexting
Social Media and Food
The Social Media Reader
Social Networking
Trolling

At Issue: Are Social Networking Sites Harmful?  General HM 742 .A 742 2015

Debates for the Digital Age: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of our Online World.   General HM 851 .D 4325 2016

Related library research guides:

Political Communication

Privacy

Technology and Society

Social Problems and Culture Wars

Reference Books
Atlas of Global Inequalities. 
Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices 
Culture Wars in America : An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices 
The Destructive Power of Religion: Violence in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, essays.   Reference BL 65 .V 55 D 47 2004
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. 

Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today. 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues. 
Encyclopedia of Homelessness.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion.  Reference BL 65 .P7 E 53 2007
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice. 
Encyclopedia of Religion and War.  Reference BL 80.3 .E 53 2004
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States
Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence. 
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media.   Reference P 96 .A 44 E 53 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Problems.   Reference HN 28 .E55 2008
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights
Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide 
Guns in American Society : An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law. Reference HV 7436 .G8783 2002
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia. 

The Oxford  Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Race and Racism: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
Religion and Violence: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present. 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society.   {Under Construction}
Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues. 
Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia.   Reference HN 57 .S 624 2006
Today's Social Issues: Democrats and Republicans
Vaccination Controversies: A Reference Handbook.   General RA 638 .N 495 2013
The World's Population : An Encyclopedia of Critical issues, Crises, and Ever-Growing Countries. 

Technology and Society

Women and Gender Studies

Abortion/Birth Control, LGBTQ/Transgender,  Women in the Middle East, Women in the Military, in that order

Abortion / Birth Control

Background Readings

Abortion

Abortion and Ethics

Abortion and Philosophy

Abortion as a Historical Election Campaign Issue

Abortion as a Social  Issue

Birth Control

Birth Control as a Social Issue

Birth Control  Movement

Family Planning Worldwide

Planned Parenthood

Right - to - Life Movement

Reference Works

Birth Control:  Your Questions Answered

Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Birth Control. Reference HQ 766 .E 52 2001
Encyclopedia of Motherhood Reference HQ 759 .E 52 2010

Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the U.S.    General  HQ 766.5 .U 5 H 57 2002
List of COD Library books on Abortion
List of COD Library videos on Abortion

LGBTQ/Transgender

Background Readings

LGBTQ Demographics

Reference Materials

Dictionary of Homophobia .
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States. Reference PS 153 .S 39 E 53 2009
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture. Reference HQ 75.13 .P 76 2008
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. Reference HQ 76.3 .U 5 E 53 2004
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.13 .G 37 2000
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide. .
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements.
Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia. Reference BL 65 .H 64 H 63 2007
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.5 .L 4395 2000
LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 73.3 .U 6 L 43 2009
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture. Ref HQ 76.96 .R 68 2011

The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
 

Women in the  Middle East

Background Readings
Birth Control

Feminism

Gender and Economy
Gender and Education
Gender and Islam

Gender and Law
Gender and Politics
Harems
HIjab
Women and Religious Rituals
Women in Islamic Nations
Women's Economic History in the Middle East

List of  COD Library videos on Women in the Middle East

Reference Books
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and North Africa: An Encyclopedia. {Under Construction}
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa.
Encyclopedia of Women in Islamic Cultures.   Reference HQ 1170 .E 53 2003
Historical Dictionary of Women in the Middle East and North Africa
Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women.

Women in the Military

An Encyclopedia of American Women at War: From the Home Front to the Battlefields. .
Women and War : A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present.   Reference U 24 .W 69 2006
Women and War in the 21st Century: A Country-by-Country Guide
Women in Combat: A Reference Handbook.   General UB 418 .W 65 S 563 2011
List of COD Library videos on Women and War / Military

A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women. Reference HQ1136 .L54 2008
A to Z World Women in Culture and Business: 175 Countries - Position in Society, Legal Rights, Education, Dating, Marriage, and Family, Health, Social Customs, Women in Professions, Women as Business Owners, and Foreign Businesswomen. 
American Countercultures: An Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles. Reference HM 647 .A 44 2009
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 1090.3 .A 453 2003
Battleground: Women, Gender and Sexuality. Reference HQ 1115 .B 38 2008
Beauty Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia.
Biographical Dictionary for Women
Boy Culture: An Encyclopedia. Reference. HQ 797 .B 69 2010
Coming of Age in Popular Culture : Teenagers, Adolescence, and the Art of Growing Up
Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia . Reference HQ 796 .C 8154 2006
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality. Reference HQ 21 .I68 2004
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body. 
Eating Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance. Ref. BF 697.5 .B 631997 2012
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature. Reference PN 471 .S 58 2006
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society. 
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media. Reference P 96.S5 E53 2012
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations. Reference HM 716 .E 53 2010
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History. Reference TT 957 .S 46 2002
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Encyclopedia of Love in World Religions. 
Encyclopedia of Motherhood Reference HQ 759 .E 52 2010
Encyclopedia of Rape. Reference HV 6558 .E 53 2004
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender. 
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures. Reference HQ 16 .E 53 2003
Encyclopedia of Social Networks.
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics. Reference HQ 1236.5 .U 6 E 52 2008
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on GenderReference HQ 1115 .E 52 2001
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Reference BL 458 .E 52 2006
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West 
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance : Italy, France, and England. Reference HQ 1148 .W 67 2007
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World. 
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers. General HQ 1236 .R29 2001
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife.
Faces Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia of the Human Face. 
Feet and Footwear: A Cultural Encyclopedia. 
Female Action Heroes : A Guide to Women in Comics, Video Games, Film, and Television
Feminist Philosophies, A to Z.
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women  Reference LC 213 .G 425 2007
Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia. 
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide. Reference HQ 1115 .G 7 2003
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Reference HQ 796 .I 58 2007
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family. Reference HQ 9 .E 52 2003
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities. Reference HQ 1090 .I 58 2007
International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage
Key Concepts in Feminist Theory and Research .

LGBTQ Events in History.  Reference  HQ 73 .L 438 2017
Marriage Customs of the World : An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions. (2013)
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 1090.3 .M 436 2004
Misogyny in American Culture: Causes, Trends, and Solutions
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History. Reference HN 57 .O 94 2012
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender. 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. Reference HQ 1115 .R 69 2000
Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery
Wimmin, Wimps, and Wallflowers: An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Gender and Sexual Orientation Bias in the United States.. (2001)
Women Adventurers,1750-1900 : A Biographical Dictionary, with Excerpts from Selected Travel Writings. Reference G 245 .M 38 2008

Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. General LC 1569 .W 66 2002
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 1115 .W 6 2000
The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism. Reference HQ 1115 .W 644 2006
Women's Rights in the United States : A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People.
Women's Roles and Statuses the World Over. Reference HQ 1236 .H 46 2006
Women's Studies Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 1115 .W 645 1999

  • URL: https://library.cod.edu/sociology
  • Last Updated: Jan 25, 2021 8:45 PM
  • Print Page